Floro names 33-man roster for initial Canada camp

The Spanish head coach has cast a wide net for his first training camp in charge of the national side. Canada will take on Mauritania in two matches during the 10-day camp.
Benito Floro is leaving no stone unturned.

In his first act as head coach of Canada's men's national team, the Spaniard called up 33 players to a 10-day training camp in his home country as he looks to evaluate the entire pool of talent available to him. Floro hopes develop a strategic understanding with his players as he takes on the huge task of creating a side that can once again compete within CONCACAF.

"This first camp is important for us as we want to achieve our tactical structure as soon as possible," Floro said in a statement. "It will also be important to establish the relationship between the coaches and players."

That he has summoned in such a large squad for what is essentially an evaluation camp isn't very surprising, although some of the older members of the roster may raise a few eyebrows. Thirty-somethings like Dwayne De Rosario, Julian de Guzman and unattached midfielder Terry Dunfield have been called in alongside teenaged prospects like Samuel Adekugbe, Jackson Farmer and Jérémy Gagnon-Laparé.

Floro said he pays no mind to how old a player is, just what he can contribute on the pitch.

"For me, the age of the player is not necessarily important," he said. "What is important is the tactical behaviour of the player on the pitch and the level of the player's ability. I have brought in a number of young players because I like the level they are playing at - and if things progress well - we will be able to bring in more youth players in the coming years."

Canada will train under Floro and his staff for several days before taking on Mauritania in a pair of friendlies. The players will start gathering in Valencia on Sept. 1, with the exhibition matches taking place on Sept. 8 and 10.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Milan Borjan (Sivasspor), Lars Hirschfeld (Vålerenga), Kenny Stamatopoulos (AIK)

DEFENDERS (11): Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Dejan Jaković (D.C. United), Adam Straith (Wehen Wiesbaden), Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg), Samuel Adekugbe (Vancouver Whitecaps), David Edgar (Burnley), Jackson Farmer (Vancouver Whitecaps Residency), Andrés Fresenga (Racing Club de Montevideo), André Hainault (VfR Aalen), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby)

MIDFIELDERS (14): Keven Aleman (Real Valladolid), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Julian de Guzman (Skoda Xanthi), Terry Dunfield (Unattached), Jérémy Gagnon-Laparé (Académie Impact Montréal), Atiba Hutchinson (Besiktas), Issey Nakajima-Farran (AEK Larnaca), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Pedro Pacheco (C.D. Santa Clara), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Düsseldorf), Dwayne De Rosario (D.C. United), Stefan Cebara (Unattached), Daniel Haber (Apollon Limassol), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps)

FORWARDS (5): Marcus Haber (Stevenage), Iain Hume (Preston North End), Simeon Jackson (Eintracht Braunschweig), Kyle Porter (D.C. United), Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf)