Canada announces 22-man Gold Cup training roster

A big influx of inexperienced players are set to join the squad, with eight players looking to earn their first competitive appearance for the senior national team.
The youth movement looks set to continue for Canada, with its latest roster sprinkled with up-and-coming talent.

A 22-man training roster was announced Tuesday for a pre-Gold Cup camp to be held in Oxnard, Calif., ahead of Canada's tournament opener on July 7. Alongside familiar names like Julian de Guzman, Will Johnson and Milan Borjan are a host of young players that will compete for playing time at the biennial championship.

Up to eight players could make their competitive international debuts at the tournament, with 19-year-old midfielder Keven Aleman looking to earn his first action of any kind with the senior national team. Aleman will join fellow teenager Samuel Piette, Toronto FC trio Doneil Henry, Kyle Bekker, and Jonathan Osorio, Vancouver Whitecaps duo Simon Thomas and Russell Teibert, and defender Adam Straith as youngsters who have yet to take part in an official tournament for Canada.

At the opposite end of the experience scale are veterans de Guzman and Lars Hirschfeld, who will be looked upon to provide leadership for the young group.

Once again helmed on an interim basis by FC Edmonton head coach Colin Miller, Canada will begin its 10-day camp on June 26. The final 23-man squad will be announced on Friday.


GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (Sivasspor), Lars Hirschfeld (Vålerenga), Simon Thomas (Vancouver Whitecaps)

DEFENDERS: Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg), David Edgar (Burnley FC), Doneil Henry (Toronto FC), Ashtone Morgan (Toronto FC), Adam Straith (Unattached), Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby)

MIDFIELDERS: Keven Aleman (Real Valladolid), Kyle Bekker (Toronto FC), Julian de Guzman (Unattached), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Issey Nakajima-Farran (Alki Larnaca), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Pedro Pacheco (C.D. Santa Clara), Samuel Piette (Fortuna Düsseldorf), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps FC), Randy Edwini-Bonsu (Unattached)

FORWARDS: Marcus Haber (Stevenage FC), Simeon Jackson (Unattached), Tosaint Ricketts (Sandnes Ulf)