Hart names Canada roster for October World Cup qualifiers

Only two changes were made from the previous round of matches, with Iain Hume and Mike Klukowski making their way back into head coach Stephen Hart's plans.
With Dwayne De Rosario sidelined, striker Iain Hume has been recalled to Canada's World Cup qualifying roster by head coach Stephen Hart.

Hume and Mike Klukowski were the only two changes made to Hart's squad from last month's matches versus Panama, with De Rosario - who suffered a season-ending MCL injury against the Central Americans - and Toronto FC defender Ashtone Morgan being left off the 21-man list.

The two additions had both been involved with the current World Cup qualifying cycle, with both having made the bench for Canada in June. Hume played the final six minutes versus the Hondurans on June 12, while Klukowski was an unused substitute.

The rest of the squad remains the same, with German-based Kevin McKenna and Olivier Occean coming off injuries picked up while playing for their respective club teams.

Canada takes on Cuba on Oct. 12 at BMO Field before closing out the current stage of qualifying in Honduras four days later. Hart's men currently sit in third place in Group C, two points behind Panama and tied with Honduras, which holds the goal differential tiebreaker. The top two teams will advance to next year's final qualifying stage.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Lars Hirschfeld (Vålerenga/NOR), Milan Borjan (Sivasspor/TUR), Kenny Stamatopoulos (AIK Fotbol/SWE)

DEFENDERS (7): Mike Klukowski (APOEL/CYP), Kevin McKenna (FC Köln/GER), André Hainault (Houston Dynamo/USA), Marcel de Jong (FC Augsburg/GER), Dejan Jaković (D.C. United/USA), David Edgar (Burnley/ENG), Ante Jazić (Chivas USA/USA)

MIDFIEDERS (7): Nik Ledgerwood (Hammarby/SWE), Julian de Guzman (FC Dallas/USA), Will Johnson (Real Salt Lake/USA), Atiba Hutchinson (PSV Eindhoven/NED), Terry Dunfield (Toronto FC/CAN), Pedro Pacheco (CD Santa Clara/POR), Patrice Bernier (Impact Montréal/CAN)

FORWARDS (4): Iain Hume (Doncaster Rovers/ENG), Tosaint Ricketts (Vålerenga/NOR), Simeon Jackson (Norwich City/ENG), Olivier Occean (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER)