Leon wins second straight Liga MX title

The Apertura champions made it a double by claiming the Clausura, becoming the first team to repeat since Pumas in 2004
Leon won its second consecutive Mexican title, defeating Pachuca 2-0 after extra time on the evening, and 4-3 on aggregate.

Pachuca won the first leg 3-2 on the road, but was unable to hold onto its advantage at home. The defending champion scored one in regulation through Mauro Boselli, evening up the tie – which did not include away goals.

SPORTING NEWS: Projected USA starters | Mexico XI

And Leon would triumph with a Juan “Nacho” Gonzalez header in extra time, winning its seventh Mexican title, and beating the odds by earning the championship as the eight seed.

Leon got the tie level midway through the second half. Boselli got on the end of a cross from close range, and his header slipped through the hands of Oscar Perez and into the net.

With the tie level on aggregate, the second leg went to extra time. After a sluggish first period of extra time, it appeared the game would head into penalties, but with eight minutes to play, Leon found the decisive goal. Luis Montes struck an in-swinging corner kick and Gonzalez headed home from close range.