Herrera, Marquez omit Ronaldo from Ballon d’Or vote

The Mexico coach did not vote for Ronaldo or Lionel Messi, while the national team captain gave his first-place vote to to the Barcelona star and none to the eventual winner
Real Madrid’s Cristano Ronaldo took the plaudits and the trophy at Monday’s Ballon d’Or award ceremony in Zurich, but picked up a total of zero points from Mexico coach Miguel Herrera and captain Rafa Marquez.

The document FIFA released to highlight how different figures in the soccer world had voted revealed the Mexican duo had somewhat different choices to the final result of Ronaldo in first position, Lionel Messi in second and Franck Ribery in third.

Herrera opted for Ribery in first position, Arjen Robben in second and Philipp Lahm in third, omitting both Ronaldo and Barcelona’s Messi.

Marquez – who made his name playing for Barcelona – perhaps naturally chose Messi as his first choice, with Robben second and Bastian Schweinsteiger in third position.

No player from the CONCACAF region made the final 23-player list for the award and Yaya Toure was the only person to appear not from either South America or Europe.