Mexico names squad for key World Cup qualifiers

The injured Jonathan Orozco, Damian Alvarez, Angel Reyna and Hector Moreno were left off Victor Manuel Vucetich's 26-man roster.
Victor Manuel Vucetich has named his first official squad as Mexico coach, with Jonathan Orozco, Damian Alvarez, Angel Reyna and Hector Moreno all missing out through injury.

Vucetich named 26 players, with Mexico's federation indicating that the day before each of the games against Panama and Costa Rica three players will be cut.

Former Barcelona defender Rafa Marquez heads the list of players and is in line to get competitive minutes with El Tri for the first time since the 2011 Gold Cup, with Tigres' Argentina-born Lucas Lobos in the squad for the first time.

The most noticeable absentee is Club America's Francisco "Maza" Rodriguez, who was captain under Jose Manuel "Chepo" de la Torre.

Leon and Tigres both have four players in the squad, with Monterrey having three.

The squad will meet up Sunday in Mexico City in preparation for the game against Panama in the Estadio Azteca on Oct. 11 and then the final Hexagonal match in Costa Rica on Oct. 15.

1. Guillermo Ochoa (Ajaccio)
2. Alfredo Talavera (Toluca)
3. Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul)
4. Severo Meza (Monterrey)
5. Hiram Mier (Monterrey)
6. Rafa Marquez (Leon)
7. Miguel Layun (America)
8. Hugo Ayala (Tigres)
9. Jonny Magallon (Leon)
10. Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres)
11. Carlos Salcido (Tigres)
12. Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul)
13. Jesus Zavala (Monterrey)
14. Luis Montes (Leon)
15. Carlos Pena (Leon)
16. Isaac Brizuela (Toluca)
17. Christian Gimenez (Cruz Azul)
18. Javier Aquino (Villarreal)
19. Giovani Dos Santos (Villarreal)
20. Fernando Arce (Tijuana)
21. Marco Fabian (Chivas)
22. Oribe Peralta (Santos)
23. Lucas Lobos (Tigres)
24. Raul Jimenez (America)
25. Aldo de Nigris (Chivas)
26. Javier Hernandez (Manchester United)