Liga MX announces playoff schedule

Liga MX has released the schedule for the eight-team Liguilla, with the Clasico Regiomontano between Monterrey and Tigres kicking off the playoffs on Wednesday.
The first legs of the Liga MX Clausura playoffs begin on Wednesday with back-to-back clasicos, the league announced on Monday.

The Clasico Regiomontano between Monterrey and Tigres starts the quarterfinal round of matches in the Estadio Tecnologico (8 p.m. ET) and is followed by Pumas and America fighting out the Clasico Capitalino in the CU (10 p.m.).

On Thursday, Santos Laguna hosts Atlas (8 p.m.) in their first leg, with Cruz Azul receiving Morelia in the Estadio Azul right after (10 p.m.).

The return fixtures will be held over the weekend, with America-Pumas starting off the second legs on Saturday in the Estadio Azteca (6 p.m.). Tigres versus Monterrey will follow directly after from the Estadio Universitario (8 p.m.).

Finally, Morelia plays host to Cruz Azul in the Estadio Morelos on Sunday (7 p.m.), with Atlas taking on Santos in the Estadio Jalisco in the final game of the quarterfinal series (9 p.m.).

The semifinal matchups will be decided according to final positions from the regular season, with away goals counting for only the second season.

Follow GOAL.COM on