Mexico, Panama Scrap Way To 1-1 Gold Cup Draw

Panama finished with nine players while Mexico were left with 10 and saw their manager also sent off as the two teams tied in Houston.
In a tense and physical game at the Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas, Mexico played out a 1-1 draw against Panama. Several incidents marred the game with several important components of both teams sent off. Mexico finished without manager Javier Aguirre and with only 10 men, while Panama ended with nine on the field.  Now, the teams will move on to Glendale, Ariz., to play the final group games on Sunday.

The opening minutes turned out to be better controlled by Panama as the team edged closer and closer into the Mexican area.  

It was Mexico who first got on the score sheet. Alberto Medina quickly took off down the left field on a counterattack. Giovani Dos Santos was perfectly positioned to take the ball and was left alone up against Panamanian goalkeeper Jaime Penedo. Dos Santos saw Miguel Sabah coming up and slotted the ball to his teammate. Sabah shot in the ball to give Mexico the 1-0 advantage in the 10th minute.

Sabah once again had an opportunity in the 17th minute when Dos Santos shot him a ball, but Sabah’s shot hit the post.  

Next, it was Panama’s turn to get on the score sheet. In the 29th minute there was a scramble in the Mexican area and Blas Perez took advantage of the situation, and overpowered defenders Jose Antonio Castro and Jonny Magallon to shoot into the corner past Guillermo Ochoa to make it 1-1.  

Both teams ended the first half with 10 men. Dos Santos stood up angered after being held up and after pushing and shoving, Luis Miguel Noriega of Mexico and Armando Gun of Panama were sent off.

In the second half there were only a few opportunities for goal. Dos Santos went up the middle of the field and took a shot from outside the area that was stopped by Peneda.  

Then in the 79th minute, Mexico’s manager, Aguirre, and Panama’s Ricardo Phillips were both sent off. Phillips went off the field after the ball, and Aguirre raised his foot as the player arrived. After pushing and shoving, Salvadoran referee Joel Aguilar showed both a red card. However, Phillips refused to leave the field delaying play for 12 minutes.  
In the 100th minute Mexico kept on trying having one of the last opportunities of the game, but Panama was able to get the ball out.  

Panama will face Nicaragua, while Mexico will go up against Guadeloupe.

Mexico: Guillermo Ochoa; Jonny Magallon, Ismael Rodriguez, Fausto Pinto, Jose Antonio Castro, Gerardo Torrado, Luis Miguel Noriega, Israel Martinez (Israel Castro, 46), Alberto Medina (Pablo Barrera, 66), Giovani Dos Santos, Miguel Sabah (Omar Bravo, 46).

Panama: Jamie Penedo; Felipe Baloy, Luis Moreno, Ramon Torres, Armando Gun, Rolando Escobar (Ricardo Phillips, 76); Gabriel Gomez, Nelson Barahona (Carlos Rivera, 46), Amilcar Henriquez; Blas Perez, Jose Garces (Manuel Torres, 61).

Mexico - Sabah 10
Panama - Perez 29

Andrea Martinez,

Visit for more
coverage of the Mexican National Team.

Want more from delivered right to your door? Introducing " Magazine."
Subscribe now!