Cahill, Yedlin, Keane, Real Salt Lake trio highlight MLS All-Star additions

MLS commissioner Don Garber used his two selections on the Red Bulls DP and Seattle Sounders Homegrown Player, while All-Star coach Peter Vermes turned to the league's top team.
The different sides of the MLS player spectrum will be on display in the 2013 MLS All-Star Game.

Seattle Sounders rookie and Homegrown Player DeAndre Yedlin and established New York Red Bulls Designated Player Tim Cahill were MLS commissioner Don Garber's two selections for the MLS All-Star team, which will play against AS Roma at Sporting Park in Kansas City, Kan., on July 31.

Sporting Kansas City manager Peter Vermes, who will guide the All-Stars at his home stadium, filled out the rest of the 20-man gameday squad -- the first 11 of which were selected by the fans and maintained by Vermes -- with his seven picks, three of which come from the league's top team at the moment, Real Salt Lake. Nick Rimando, Tony Beltran and Kyle Beckerman, all of whom are currently on duty with the U.S. national team in the CONCACAF Gold Cup, will play a part for the squad that is playing against Michael Bradley's Roma.

Vermes' other additions were Houston left back Corey Ashe, Montreal midfielder Patrice Bernier, LA Galaxy forward Robbie Keane and Vancouver Whitecaps forward Camilo, who leads MLS in goals with 12.

Among the top names that did not make the cut are LA Galaxy star Landon Donovan, who had been named to the team 12 years in a row, and Philadelphia Union forward Jack McInerney, who has been at the top of the goal-scoring charts for the duration of the season.

Here is the MLS All-Star team in full that will be taking on Roma (12 other players will earn All-Star distinction per the league's collective bargaining agreement but will not be available for selection):


Goalkeeper: Raul Fernández (FC Dallas), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders), Corey Ashe (Houston Dynamo), Tony Beltran (Real Salt Lake)

Midfielders: Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Mike Magee (Chicago Fire), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City), Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls)

Forwards: Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), Marco Di Vaio (Montreal Impact), Camilo Sanvezzo (Vancouver Whitecaps), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy)