thumbnail Hello,

The Revolution midfielder wins the award for the third time, while the Fire take their first.

Annually given to the player and team who best exemplify the fair play guidelines that Major League Soccer has set out, the Fair Play Award is one of the best awards to win.

Taking the award home for the third time in his career is New England Revolution midfielder Steve Ralston, who won the award in 1999 and 2000 when he was with the Tampa Bay Mutiny.

He becomes the third Revolution player in a row to be given the award as former Revs defender Michael Parkhurst won it last year and the year before.

The all-time leader in games and minutes played, Ralston spent six seasons with the Mutiny from 1996, the league’s first, until 2001. He signed with the Revolution in 2002 and has played over 200 matches for them since.

Winning the team award is the Chicago Fire, who accumulated the fewest disciplinary points this season, 259.5. Teams receives these points based on this criteria: 4 points per caution, 10 points per red card, 0.50 points for each foul committed and 15 points reduced for every game with no cards or disciplinary action.

Shane Evans,

For more news on England, visit's England section!