thumbnail Hello,

Premier League

  • December 8, 2012
  • • 10:00 AM
  • • The DW Stadium, Wigan
  • Referee: P. Dowd
  • • Attendance: 17163

Premier League Preview: Wigan - QPR

The Londoners are seven points away from safety but know their maiden Premier League victory of the season could drag the Latics further into relegation trouble.



Boyce, Lopez, Alcaraz
Stam, McCarthur, McCarthy, Beausejour Gomez
Kone, Di Santo


Bosingwa, Nelsen, Hill, Traore
Park, Diakite, Granero
Wright-Phillips, Mackie, Taraabt

Wigan hope to have a few of its injury worries cleared by the time relegation rival QPR come calling at the DW Stadium. Antolin Alcaraz could make his long awaited return from a groin injury, while there are also hopes of returns to at least the substitues' bench for Shaun Maloney (groin), Ryo Miyaichi (ankle) and Albert Crusat (knee).

However, Roberto Martinez continues to be without Ivan Ramis (hamstring), while Ben Watson's broken leg makes him a long-term absentee. Additionally, the Latics will be without the services of skipper Gary Caldwell and fellow central defender Maynor Figueroa after the duo picked up suspensions in the 3-0 defeat at Newcastle.

Harry Redknapp will look to name a relatively unchanged side as QPR seeks its first Premier League victory of the season at the 16th time of asking, though even a victory would not take it off the bottom of the table.

Redknapp has doubts over Stephane M'Bia (neck) and Samba Diakite (calf) after the central-midfield duo both picked up knocks in their draw with Aston Villa last time out, while Robert Green looks set to continue in goal due to Julio Cesar's prolonged absence with a groin injury.

Elsewhere, strike duo Bobby Zamora (thigh) and Andrew Johnson (knee) remain on the sidelines, so Redknapp must choose between in-form Jamie Mackie and Djbrill Cisse to lead the line.

  • If QPR fails to win it will set a new record for failing to gain a victory after its first 16 games of the season.
  • Last season's fixture between the two sides at the DW Stadium resulted in a 2-0 victory for Wigan, courtesy of Franco Di Santo's first two goals of the campaign.
  • Wigan has conceded the majority of their goals (10), between the 61-75th minutes, a period in which QPR has scored its least amount of goals (one).
  • Wigan has three players who have started every Premier League game so far this season in Emmerson Boyce, James McCarthy and Maynor Figueroa, though the latter will miss this clash through suspension. By contrast, QPR has no ever-presents in its squad.
  • After 15 matches played last season, Wigan lays 18th on 12 points. It is only two points and two places better off this campaign. Remarkably, QPR was seven places and 10 points better placed this time last year.
  • Wigan has only collected two home wins in the Premier League so far this season, both against newly-promoted clubs in Reading and West Ham.
  • Liverpool's Luis Suarez has had the most shots in the Premier League (89) and scored 10 goals. By contrast, Wigan's top scorer Arouna Kone, has only had 38 shots and scored four times.
  • Shaun Wright-Phillips' (pictured, right) last Premier League goal came on the final day of the 2009-10 season, when he scored for Manchester City at West Ham in a 1-1 draw.


Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
England - Championship ‎(ENG2)‎ May 12, 2014 QPR 2 - Wigan Athletic 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
England - Championship ‎(ENG2)‎ May 9, 2014 Wigan Athletic 0 - QPR 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
England - Championship ‎(ENG2)‎ Mar 25, 2014 QPR 1 - Wigan Athletic 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
England - Championship ‎(ENG2)‎ Oct 30, 2013 Wigan Athletic 0 - QPR 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
English Premier League (EPL) ‎(EPL)‎ Apr 7, 2013 QPR 1 - Wigan Athletic 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
26Ali Al HabsiGoalkeeper
17Emmerson BoyceDefender
-Ronnie StamDefender
26Adrain LopezDefender
16James McCarthyMidfielder
19David JonesMidfielder
15Jordi GómezMidfielder
16James McArthurMidfielder
11Jean BeausejourMidfielder
9Arouna KoneStriker
9Franco Di SantoStriker
12Mike PollittGoalkeeper
-Román GolobartDefender
41Daniel RedmondDefender
20Fraser FyvieMidfielder
10Shaun MaloneyStriker
15Callum McManamanStriker
-Mauro BoselliStriker
1Robert GreenGoalkeeper
3Armand TraoréDefender
6Clint HillDefender
-Ryan NelsenManager/Coach
3José BosingwaDefender
21Samba DiakitéMidfielder
4Shaun DerryMidfielder
7Adel TaarabtMidfielder
11Shaun Wright-PhillipsMidfielder
17Stéphane M'BiaMidfielder
12Jamie MackieStriker
26Brian MurphyGoalkeeper
-Anton FerdinandDefender
35Fabio Da SilvaDefender
11Esteban GraneroMidfielder
32Alejandro FaurlinMidfielder
9Djibril CisséStriker
23Junior HoilettStriker

From the web

From the web