thumbnail Hello,
Live

Premier League

  • February 23, 2014
  • • 8:30 AM
  • • Anfield, Liverpool
  • Referee: M. Jones
  • • Attendance: 44731
4
FT
3

Premier League Preview: Liverpool - Swansea City

Premier League Preview: Liverpool - Swansea City

Getty Images

Daniel Sturridge could become only the second player in the Premier League after Ruud van Nistelrooy to score in eight consecutive games.

Daniel Sturridge will become only the second player in Premier League history after Ruud van Nistelrooy to score in eight consecutive games if he finds the net for Liverpool against Swansea City on Sunday.

The former Manchester United striker currently holds the record for the longest Premier League scoring streak - a run of 10 games between March 2003 and August 2003 - but Sturridge is closing in on the Dutchman’s achievement and could equal it at Old Trafford March 16.

Ahead of the fixture at Anfield, Liverpool sits fourth in the table, four points behind leader Chelsea with 12 games remaining.

And should Liverpool secure Champions League football this season, manager Brendan Rodgers believes the club has the ability to compete with the strongest clubs in the competition.

“Yes, I would have confidence in saying that,” said Rodgers. “Our performances and results have shown that. Even in the cup game last week you look at the reaction from Arsenal. You could sense that they felt they were playing against a very good side.

“I spoke to Arsene after the game. He and his staff said they felt we were the most dangerous attacking team they had played all season, which is a great compliment when you think of some of the games they have played in.

“I didn’t go to any of the games in midweek but I watched it all. I have certainly been to a few over the course of the season, such as Schalke against Basle in Germany and some of the games here in England.

“I think we have shown in our performance level that we are as good as any of the [English] sides this season. We just need to do it over the next 12 games and prove it on the field.

“If we do that it will take us to that level. It is a competition that this club has a wonderful history in. It’s a level that we want to get back to.”

Glen Johnson (ankle) is back in contention for the first time since mid-January, but Lucas Leiva (knee), Mamadou Sakho (hamstring) and Jose Enrique (knee) remain unavailable.

For the visitors, Michu could return, although the Spain international was unable to make the squad for Europa League stalemate at home to Napoli on Thursday after suffering soreness in an ankle that was operated on in December.

Pablo Hernandez, Jonjo Shelvey and Nathan Dyer both came off during that match, and Swansea will hope to have both fit for Sunday.

Related

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
English Premier League (EPL) ‎(EPL)‎ Feb 23, 2014 Liverpool 4 - Swansea City 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
English Premier League (EPL) ‎(EPL)‎ Sep 16, 2013 Swansea City 2 - Liverpool 2
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
English Premier League (EPL) ‎(EPL)‎ Feb 17, 2013 Liverpool 5 - Swansea City 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
English Premier League (EPL) ‎(EPL)‎ Nov 25, 2012 Swansea City 0 - Liverpool 0
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Capital One Cup ‎(CCUP)‎ Oct 31, 2012 Liverpool 1 - Swansea City 3
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Odds
Team News
Available Squads
22Simon MignoletGoalkeeper
2Glen JohnsonDefender
5Daniel AggerDefender
37Martin SkrtelDefender
38Jon FlanaganDefender
8Steven GerrardMidfielder
10CoutinhoMidfielder
14Jordan HendersonMidfielder
31Raheem SterlingMidfielder
7Luis SuárezStriker
15Daniel SturridgeStriker
1Bradley JonesGoalkeeper
4Kolo ToureDefender
20Aly CissokhoDefender
-Victor MosesMidfielder
24Joe AllenMidfielder
53Joao CarlosMidfielder
-Iago AspasStriker
1Michel VormGoalkeeper
3Neil TaylorDefender
4ChicoDefender
6Ashley WilliamsDefender
22Ángel RangelDefender
7Leon BrittonMidfielder
8Jonjo ShelveyMidfielder
12Nathan DyerMidfielder
15Wayne RoutledgeMidfielder
20Jonathan De GuzmánMidfielder
10Wilfried BonyStriker
25Gerhard TremmelGoalkeeper
2Jordi AmatDefender
21Dwight TiendalliDefender
11Pablo HernándezMidfielder
21José CañasStriker
54David NgogStriker
57Marvin EmnesStriker

From the web

From the web