Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
0 vs 5
October 12, 2012 9:00 PM EDT
BBVA Compass Stadium — Houston, Texas
Referee:‬ W. Lopez‎
Attendance:‬ 12115‎
O. Peralta 79′
Charles Pollard 82′ (OG)
Á. Reyna 86′

World Cup Qualifying Preview: Guyana - Mexico

Mexico will play CONCACAF's southernmost team in Houston, as the South Americans have moved their home game.

By Eric Gomez

Mexico - World Cup Qualifying 2012
Getty Images

Guyana (4-4-2): Reynolds; Pollard, L. Cort, Rodrigues, Newton; Shakes, Nurse, McKinnon, Millington; Richardson, C. Cort.


GOALKEEPERS: Colin Edwards (Caledonia AIA), Richard Reynolds (Alpha United FC), Ronson William (Alpha United FC).

DEFENDERS: Walter Moore (Caledonia AIA), Colin Nelson (Caledonia AIA), JP Rodrigues (Tampa Bay Rowdies), Jamaal Smith (Syrianska), Charles Pollard (North East Stars), Leon Cort (Charlton Athletic), Taylor Benjamin (Capital City FC).

MIDFIELDERS: Dwain Jacobs (Alpha United FC), Howard Newton (Staines Town), Konata Mannings (Pele FC), Kayode McKinnon (Antigua Barracuda FC), Nick Millington (Carolina Railhawks), Trayon Bobb (Caledonia AIA), Ricky Shakes (Kidderminster), Chris Nurse (Puerto Rico Islanders), Shawn Beveney (Caledonia AIA).

FORWARDS: Carl Cort (Tampa Bay Rowdies), Sheldon Holder (Alpha United FC), Vurlon Mills (United Petrotin), Gregory Richardson (Puerto Rico Islanders).

Mexico (4-2-2-2): Talavera; Torres Nilo, Moreno, Rodriguez, Meza; Herrera, Enríquez; Guardado, Aquino; Peralta, Hernandez


GOALKEEPERS: Alfredo Talavera (Toluca), Jonathan Orozco (Monterrey)

DEFENDERS: Adrian Aldrete (América), Hector Moreno (Espanyol) Francisco Rodriguez (Stuttgart), Severo Meza (Monterrey), Diego Reyes (América), Joel Huiqui (Morelia), Israel Jimenez (Tigres), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres).

MIDFIELDERS: Carlos Peña (León), Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul), Andres Guardado (Valencia), Javier Aquino (Cruz Azul), Angel Reyna (Monterrey), Jorge Enríquez (Guadalajara), Hector Herrera (Pachuca), Sinha (Toluca)

FORWARDS: Elias Hernandez (Tigres), Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna), Aldo de Nigris (Monterrey), Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez (Manchester United)

  • The last match between both teams ended in a 3-1 win for Mexico at the Estadio Azteca on June 8.
  • Carlos Peña of León was called up for the first time by Mexico, and will have a chance to play in his first match for El Tri.
  • Under Jose Manuel 'Chepo' de la Torre, Mexico is unbeaten in official tournament and qualifying matches, stemming back to the 2011 Gold Cup.
  • Monterrey leads all teams with four players called up by the national team.
  • Hector Moreno scored Guyana's only goal of the first match against Mexico, an own goal that made it 3-1.
  • Mexico has allowed only two goals in the current round of qualifying in four games and has already qualified for the Hexagonal.

Field Report
Reader's Predictions
Top 3 Predictions
Head to Head
WCQ 2014 (Concacaf) ‎(WCQN)‎ Oct 12, 2012 Guyana 0 - Mexico 5
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
WCQ 2014 (Concacaf) ‎(WCQN)‎ Jun 8, 2012 Mexico 3 - Guyana 1
  • Player Ratings
  • Match Report
  • Play by Play
  • Preview
Last Five Matches
Team News
Available Squads
-Derrick CarterGoalkeeper
-Charles PollardDefender
-Walter MooreMidfielder
-Jamaal SmithDefender
-Gregory Richardson Striker
-Ricky ShakesMidfielder
-Christopher NurseMidfielder
-Shawn BeveneyMidfielder
-Trayon BobbMidfielder
-Devon MillingtonStriker
-Dwain JacobsMidfielder
-Kester JacobsMidfielder
-Anthony AbramsStriker
-Dwight Keston PetersStriker
-Colin NelsonDefender
-Daniel WilsonMidfielder
-Konata ManningsStriker
-Vurlon MillsStriker
-Brandon BeresfordMidfielder
-Ronson Anthony WilliamsGoalkeeper
Probable Lineups
Derrick Carter 0
Charles Pollard 0
Walter Moore 0
Jamaal Smith 0
Gregory Richardson 0
Ricky Shakes 0
Christopher Nurse 0
Shawn Beveney 0
Trayon Bobb 0
Devon Millington 0
Dwain Jacobs 0
Jonathan Emmanuel Orozco 0
Héctor Moreno 15
Javi Martínez 0
I. Jiménez 2
Jorge Emmanuel Torres 0
Antonio Matías 0
J. Aquino 11
Gerardo Torrado 0
Jose Andrés Guardado 18
Javier Hernández 14
O. Peralta 18
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Peter Byers Peter Byers
10 1
B. Pérez B. Pérez
FC Dallas
9 0
J. Bengtson J. Bengtson
New England
9 0
Clint Dempsey Clint Dempsey
Seattle Sounders
8 2
A. Saborío A. Saborío
Real Salt Lake
8 1