Keylor Navas escapes red card after apparent last man foul

ShareClose Comments
The Real Madrid goalkeeper looked to take out Betis forward Darko Brasanac with his legs but was not even booked for the incident

It's a day to forget for Keylor Navas.

Barca's back-ups not good enough

The Real Madrid goalkeeper appeared to be fortunate to stay on the field Sunday after committing a foul on Real Betis forward Darko Brasanac in the 22nd minute. The Costa Rican came off his line to try to stop a ball over the top, but when it fell short of his area, he had to make a play. As the Serbian forward approached, Navas looked to stick his legs out and bring him down, but referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz saw fit to whistle for a foul and didn't put the shot-stopper in the book.

The incident came in a week that saw Madrid rival Barcelona move through in the UEFA Champions League after a stunning comeback victory in its Champions League tie against Paris Saint-Germain, a win that many felt was abetted by officiating that favored the Blaugrana.

WATCH: Depay's stunner from midfield

Navas may have wished his day had ended then, though. Three minutes after the ref let him off the hook, he dove to his left to make a stop on a shot from Antonio Sanabria. Though he initially stopped the Paraguayan's effort, the ball squirted out from under Navas and across the goal line as the goalkeeper struggled to control it and watched as it went in for an own goal

Next article:
Mourinho: Man Utd are not a team yet
Next article:
'He's been sh*t for years!' - Bayern chief welcomes Ozil's international retirement
Next article:
Abraham & Palmer determined to take Chelsea chance
Next article:
Klopp and Liverpool have plenty of positives despite Dortmund defeat
Next article:
Ampadu reveals Chelsea dream as he aims to impress new boss Sarri

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By using our website you agree to our use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Show more Accept