Dejagah leads Iran's final World Cup squad

Carlos Quieroz has cut his list to a final 23, with Hashem Beykzadeh passed fit despite struggling with a calf problem
Iran coach Carlos Queiroz has named his final squad for the World Cup this month.

Quieroz had opted to take 24 players to Brazil, with a fitness test due for defender Hashem Beykzadeh after he damaged a calf muscle in the 1-1 draw with Montenegro.

Mohammad Khanzadeh, who was set to replace Beykzadeh in the final squad should his injury be deemed too severe, will travel to Brazil as a stand-by, though Beykzadeh has kept his spot in the final 23-man list after being passed fit enough to play.

The majority of the players are based in Iran, with 10 coming from international leagues - including goalkeeper Daniel Davari (Eintracht Braunschweig) and midfielder Ashkan Dejagah (Fulham).

Other internationally based players named include captain and midfielder Javad Nekounam (Al-Kuwait), Masoud Shojaei (Las Palmas), Alireza Jahanbakhsh (NEC), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Charlton Athletic), Sardar Azmoun (Rubin Kazan), Alireza Haghighi (Sporting Covilha), Steven Beitashour (Vancouver Whitecaps) and Pejman Montazeri (Umm Salal).

Azmoun is rumoured to be a transfer target of Premier League giants Arsenal, with the teenager impressing in the Russian Premier League this campaign with three goals from 13 appearances.

The biggest surprise is the omission of Mohammadreza Khalatbari, a regular throughout Iran's qualifying campaign.

Iran take on Argentina, Nigeria and Bosnia-Herzegovina in Group F this summer.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Davari (Eintracht Braunschweig), Rahman Ahmadi (Sepahan Isfahan), Alireza Haqiqi (Sporting da Covilha)

Defenders: Hossein Mahini (Persepolis), Jalal Hosseini (Persepolis), Amir Hossein Sadeqi (Esteghlal), Hashem Beykzadeh (Esteghlal), Mehrdad Pouladi (Persepolis), Ahmad Alenemeh (Naft Tehran), Pejman Montazeri (Umm Salal), Steven Beitashour (Vancouver Whitecaps), Mohammad Reza Khanzadeh (Zob Ahan Isfahan)*

Midfielders: Reza Haghighi (Persepolis), Andranik Teymourian (Esteghlal), Ghasem Hadadifar (Zob Ahan Isfahan), Bakhtiar Rahmani (Foolad), Javad Nekounam (Kuwait SC), Ehsan Hajsafi (Sepahan Isfahan)

Forwards: Khosrow Heidari (Esteghlal), Karim Ansarifard (Tractor Sazi), Reza Ghoochannejhad (Charlton Athletic), Alireza Jahanbakhsh (NEC),Masoud Shojaei (Las Palmas), Ashkan Dejagah (Fulham)

*Travelling as stand-by