thumbnail Hello,

The War Elephants has submitted its final 22-man roster for the Suzuki Cup 2012 with Panupong Wongsa as national team captain just a day before their match with Philippines

Thailand’s 22-man squad for the Suzuki Cup 2012 has been finalised along with the team’s captaincy.

Winfried Schafer has decided to include Thailand’s leading scorer Pipob On-Mo in his squad despite the experienced striker only recently having recovered from injury and passing a last-minute fitness test earlier this week.

The German has also selected Panupong Wongsa to be captain for the Thailand team after much consideration.

The Muangthong United defender was chosen ahead of many other equally adequate candidates, with experienced players Nataporn Phanrit and Datsakorn Thonglao initially among the reckoning.

"He [Panupong] has high leadership skill, he is suitable before, every player came to conclusion that he deserves this role,” said Schafer at his pre-match press conference.

“Nevertheless, I don't think it matters much as Nataporn, Niweat, Datsakorn, Kawin, or Teerasil are important to the team and they should play as if they are a captain.”

Record three-time winners Thailand will face last edition's semi-finalists Philippines in their first game of the Suzuki Cup 2012 campaign.

Thailand's 22-man roster for the 2012 AFF Suzuki Cup:

Goalkeepers: Kawin Thammasatchanan, Sinthaweechai Hathairattanakool

Defenders: Panupong Wongsa, Theeraton Bunmathan, Cholratit Jantakam, Niweat Siriwong, Nataporn Phanrit, Anucha Kitpongsri, Prayad Boonya, Piyapol Bantao

Midfielders: Datsakorn Thonglao, Sumanya Purisai, Adul Lahso, Sompong Soleb, Arthit Sunthornpit, Jakkraphan Pornsai, Apipoo Suntompanavej, Pichitphong Choeichiu, Chanathip Songkrasin

Strikers: Kirati Keawsombut, Teerasil Dangda, Pipob On-Mo