Suarez best in England, Ronaldo the master in Spain - the winners of the world's top 50 individual awards

As the 2014 Goal 50 draws ever closer, we review some of the big prize winners from top leagues around the globe over the last 12 months
We are now less than two weeks away from the announcement of the 2014 Goal 50, where we will reward the best individual performers of the 2013-14 season.

Reigning champion Lionel Messi will be hoping to claim a fourth Goal 50 award, but will face serious competition from the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Arjen Robben, Thomas Muller and Luis Suarez, amongst many others.

Ronaldo was the winner of the Ballon d’Or last year, while his goalscoring exploits also saw him win the Pichichi Trophy and the European Golden Shoe in what was another prolific year for the Portuguese.

Messi may have been outdone when it came to those honours but the Argentina star did outscore his nemesis at the World Cup, finding the net four times to lead his country to the final.

Bayern Munich attackers Muller and Mario Gotze, meanwhile, not only played key roles at the World Cup, but also won the domestic double.

And Suarez could yet gatecrash the Goal 50 party after taking the Premier League by storm in 2013-14 to earn himself a move to Barcelona.

Below, we list 50 of the most prominent award winners from around the globe over the past 12 months.


Africa-based Player of the Year Mohamed Aboutrika (Al-Ahly)
CAF Champions League Golden Boot (2013) Alexis Yougouda Kada (Coton Sport)
African Footballer of the Year Yaya Toure (Manchester City)


Copa Libertadores Golden Boot (2013) Jo (Atletico Mineiro)
CONCACAF Champions League Best Player Mariano Pavone (Cruz Azul)
MLS MVP Mike Magee (Chicago Fire)
Liga MX Top Goalscorer Enner Valencia (Pachuca)
Campeonato Brasileiro Golden Boot Ederson (Atletico Paranaense)
Argentina Primera Division Golden Boot Zarate (Velez Sarsfield), Pereyra (Belgrano)
Canadian Championship Best Player Justin Mapp (Montreal Impact)
Ecuador Serie A Top Goalscorer Federico Nieto (Deportivo Quito)
Colombia Liga Postobon Golden Boot Dayro Moreno (Millonarios), Luis Carlos Ruiz (Junior)


AFC Player of the Year Zheng Zhi (Guangzhou Evergrande)
AFC Asian International Player of the Year Yuto Nagatomo (Inter)
AFC Foreign Player of the Year Muriqui (Guangzhou Evergrande)
AFC Champions League Best Player Muriqui (Guangzhou Evergrande)
J-League Golden Boot Yoshito Okubo (Kawasaki Frontale)
K-League Golden Boot Damjanovic (Seoul), Kim Shin-Wook (Ulsan Hyundai)
A-League Golden Boot Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets)
OFC Champions League Golden Ball Emiliano Tade (Auckland City)


Champions League Golden Boot Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Europa League Golden Boot Jonathan Soriano (Red Bull Salzburg)
European Golden Shoe Suarez (Liverpool), Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
European Golden Boy Paul Pogba (Juventus)
Premier League Footballer of the Year Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
PFA Player of the Season Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
Premier League Golden Boot Luis Suarez (Liverpool)
Premier League Golden Glove Petr Cech (Chelsea), Wojciech Szczesny (Arsenal)
La Liga Golden Boot Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
La Liga Zamora Trophy Thibaut Courtois (Atletico Madrid)
Serie A Golden Boot Ciro Immobile (Torino)
Bundesliga Player of the Season Marco Reus (Borussia Dortmund)
Bundesliga Golden Boot Robert Lewandowski (Borussia Dortmund)
Ligue 1 Player of the Season Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)
Ligue 1 Golden Boot Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Paris Saint-Germain)
Russian Premier League Golden Boot Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow)
Eredivisie Player of the Year Daley Blind (Ajax)
Eredivisie Golden Boot Alfred Finnbogason (Heerenveen)
Scotland PFA Player of the Year Kris Commons (Celtic)
Belgian Pro League Golden Boot Hamdi Harbaoui (Lokeren)
Portuguese Primeira Liga Golden Boot Jackson Martinez (Porto)
Ukrainian Premier League Golden Boot Luiz Adriano (Shakhtar)


Fifa Ballon d'Or Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
World Cup Golden Ball Lionel Messi (Argentina)
World Cup Golden Boot James Rodriguez (Colombia)
World Cup Golden Glove Manuel Neuer (Germany)
World Cup Young Player Paul Pogba (France)
Club World Cup Best Player of the Tournament Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)
Club World Cup Golden Boot Ronaldinho (Mineiro), Conca (Evergrande), Delgado (Monterrey), Iajour (Casablanca)
Fifa Puskas Award Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)


Do these players deserve to make the Goal 50? If not, who else should be on the list? If so, who should join them and in what order should they be ranked?

Get involved via our Goal 50 section this month and give us all your views on the debate by commenting below and by getting in touch on Facebook or Twitter using the hashtag #Goal50.