Singapore Under-23 squad announced for Indonesia and Philippines friendlies

The 25-man squad is made up of mainly LionsXII and Courts Young Lions players as coach V. Sundramoorthy prepares them for the SEA Games with three friendly matches
Singapore Under-23 coach V. Sundramoorthy has announced a 25-man squad for three upcoming friendlies against Indonesia and Philippines, which are part of ongoing preparations for the SEA Games in Myanmar in December.

The squad comprises players from the LionsXII and Courts Young Lions, with Tampines Rovers' Shannon Stephen the only exception. More notable names include Afiq Yunos, Khairul Nizam, Faris Ramli and Shakir Hamzah, with the largely untested Randy Pay also called up.

The U23s will play Indonesia away on June 8 and at home on July 15, with a home match against Philippines on June 13. The team will start training today, with Sundram indicating that more matches were being finalised.

“I am grateful to be given the opportunity to coach the U23 squad for the SEA Games in Myanmar,” the former Singapore international said.

“By starting our preparations early, the players will get the opportunity to come together as a team. Many of the selected players for the friendlies are part of the dynamic LionsXII team currently playing in the Malaysian Super League. These young players have gained the necessary experience by playing against older and tougher opponents in the S. League and the Malaysian Super League.

“We hope that our centralised training programmes and these friendlies with the regional teams will help us better prepare the squad, prior to the tournament.”

Full Singapore U23 squad

Goalkeepers: Khairulhin Khalid, Neezam Aziz, Syazwan Buhari.

Defenders: Shannon Stephen, Shakir Hamzah, Faris Azienuddin, Madhu Mohana, Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Afiq Yunos.

Midfielders: Nazrul Nazari, Fazli Ayob, Aqhari Abdullah, Izzdin Shafiq, Safirul Sulaiman, Faris Ramli, Shamil Sharif, Stanely Ng, Raihan Rahman, Anumanthan Mohan Kumar.

Forwards: Syafiq Zainal, Randy Pay, Khairul Nizam, Sahil Suhaimi, Fareez Farhan.