Singapore squad for AFC U16 Championship Qualifiers

Head coach Nazri Nasir will lead the Cubs to Hong Kong to face the likes of Australia later this month

The Football Association of Singapore (FAS) announced today the names of the 23 young starlets who have been selected for the Singapore (NFA) U15 team taking part in the AFC Under-16 Championship Qualifiers (East Zone) in Hong Kong later this month.

Singapore is one of 43 nations, divided into 10 groups, participating in the tournament. Scheduled to take place from September 21 to 29, 2013, the Cubs have been placed in Group G together with Australia, Hong Kong, Chinese Taipei and Macau.

The 10 group winners and best five second-placed teams from all groups will qualify for the finals to be played in Thailand next year.

Head coach and former Singapore national captain Nazri Nasir will lead Singapore in the tournament.

“We have a very determined group of boys in this team,” Nazri said.

“I am pleased with the performance of the boys in the recent AFF U16 Championship and they have certainly benefitted from the experience and exposure that the tournament provided.

“The team has been training hard and is ready to take on all the opponents in the group, including strong contender Australia, but I am certain we will do our utmost best together as a team.”

Singapore was knocked out at the group stage at the recent AFF U16 and AFF U19 championships.

Singapore will play their first match against Hong Kong on Saturday, September 21, 2013.

Singapore U15 Squad

Goalkeepers: Kenji Syed Rusydi Bin Al-Asyraf (Hong Kah Secondary School), Muhammad Adib Nur Hakim Bin Azahari (Singapore Sports School), Nonis Zephen Sean-Anthony (Assumption English School)

Defenders: Muhamad Rusyaidi Bin Salime, Mohammad Shahrul Affandy Bin Mohamad Fazil, Mohammad Fadzyl Bin Misawal, Danial Shafiq Bin Abdul Rahman, Prakash Raj S/O Nanthakumar (all Singapore Sports School), Muhammad Danish Bin Mohd Jefri (Hong Kah Secondary School), Muhammad Amer Hakeem Bin Mohamad Nazri (Tanjong Katong Secondary School), Muhammad Fazrin Bin Muhammad Hawafi (St Gabriel’s Secondary School), Muhammad Mikhail Bin Ramdan (Dunearn Secondary School)

Midfielders: Justin Hui Yong Kang, Muhammad Amirul Hakim Bin Onn, Chan Zhi Wei Jordan, Muhammad Syahrul Bin Sazali, Syed Firdaus Bin Syed Hassan (all Singapore Sports School), Muhammad Zulqarnaen Bin Suzliman (Regent Secondary School), Royston Tan Jia Jie (Victoria School), Haiqal Pashia Anugrah (Hong Kah Secondary School)

Forwards: Muhammad Hami Syahin Bin Said, Muhammad Syukri Bin Mohd Bashir, Darren Yap Zhi Xin (all Singapore Sports School)