thumbnail Hello,

LionsXII head coach V. Sundramoorthy will lead a 22-man side to Malaysia for the four-team tournament

A 22-man Singapore Under-23 side will take part in the upcoming 41st Merdeka Tournament in Malaysia, as announced by the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) on Wednesday night.

To be held from September 7 to 14 at the Darul Makmur Stadium in Kuantan, Pahang, the team led by LionsXII coach V. Sundramoorthy will face off against the hosts, Myanmar and Thailand in a single group stage.

Singapore number one Izwan Mahbud will keep goal, while the likes of Lions teammate Shakir Hamzah and Courts Young Lions centreback Afiq Yunos guard him. Fazli Ayob and Faris Ramli will look to dazzle down the wings, while only two strikers have been named in Syafiq Zainal and Khairul Nizam.

The team will carry a familiar look, with 15 of them from the LionsXII while the rest from the Young Lions.

“I am pleased that the boys are given the opportunity to play in this tournament as it will provide excellent exposure for them ahead of the SEA Games," Sundram said in the FAS statement.

"This is vital to the development of our youth players and the experience that the Under-23 players will gain from the Merdeka Tournament, as well as the international friendlies, will only further enhance their progress as players."

The team will depart on Friday, 11.30a.m. from Changi Airport Terminal 2 on flight FY 3572.

Singapore squad
Goalkeepers: Syazwan Buhari, Neezam Aziz (both Courts Young Lions), Izwan Mahbud (LionsXII).
Defenders: Shakir Hamzah, Madhu Mohana, Hafiz Sujad, Faris Azienuddin (all LionsXII), Sheikh Abdul Hadi, Al-Qaasimy Rahman, Afiq Yunos, Raihan Rahman (all CYL).
Midfielders: Aqhari Abdullah, Nazrul Nazari, Izzdin Shafiq, Fazli Ayob, Zulfahmi Arifin, Faris Ramli, Gabriel Quak (all LionsXII), Faiz Salleh, Shamil Sharif (both CYL).
Forwards: Syafiq Zainal, Khairul Nizam (both LionsXII).

*The list released by the Football Association of Malaysia on the same day as FAS has Young Lions striker Sahil Suhaimi instead of Shamil Sharif in the only difference