Overseas-based players not included in Philippines squad for Singapore friendly

Philippines-based players dominate the squad as Neil Etheridge, Roland Muller and Stephan Schrock will be unavailable to face Singapore on November 15 in a friendly in Cebu.
     By Khalis Rifhan

Philippines have announced their squad for the upcoming friendly against Singapore at Cebu City Sports Center on November 15.

Notably missing from the squad are overseas-based players Neil Etheridge [Bristol Rovers, on-loan from Fulham], Stephan Schrock [TSG Hoffenheim], Jerry Lucena [Esbjerg fB], Manuel Ott [FC Ingolstadt 04], Dennis Cagara [Karlsruher SC], Roland Müller [MSV Duisburg]and Paul Mulders [ADO Den Haag].

These seven players lwere included in the Azkals' AFF Suzuki Cup preliminary squad registration last week.

But the chances of seeing goalkeeper Etheridge and playmaker Schrock in action during the tournament proper are slim, as both are first team regulars for their respective clubs.

In a press conference organized by the Cebu Football Association, Philippines team manager Dan Palami Dan said he expected the players who will be involved in the friendly against Singapore to make the final 22-man cut.

With absence of key players, coach Hans Michael Weiss has called upon the services of Global FC goalkeeper Paolo Pascual and Philippines Under-23 striker Joshua Beloya from Kaya FC.

Also included in the squad is Philippines-Iranian midfielder Misagh Bahadoran from Kaya FC, who made his debut for his mother’s country of birth during 2014 FIFA World Cup qualification first round against Kuwait in 2011.

Philippines Squad:


Eduard Sacapano [Philippines Army], Paolo Pascual [Global FC].


Jason Sabio [Kaya FC], Rob Gier [Free Agent], Roel Gener, Nestorio Margarse [both Philippines Army], Carlos Alberto de Murga, Demitrius Omphroy [both Global].


Marvin Angeles, Jeffrey Christiaens, Misagh Bahadoran [all Kaya], Patrick Reichelt, Matthew Uy [both Global], Jason de Jong [Stallion FC], Ray Anthony Jonsson [Grindavik], Andres Gonzales, James Younghusband [both Loyola Meralco Sparks], Christopher Greatwich [Morris County Colonials].


Ian Araneta, Emilio Caligdong [both Philippines Air Force], Joshua Beloya [Kaya], Denis Wolf [Global], Phil Younghusband [Loyola Meralco Sparks]