Double nomination for at 2012 S.League Awards Night Singapore is up for Story of the Year and Picture of the Year at the awards on Sunday night
     By Bhas Kunju
@BhasKunju Singapore's success as a leading football portal, continued with a double nomination for the site at this year's S.League Awards Night.

Khalis Rifhan's heartfelt story on outgoing Singapore Armed Forces coach, Richard Bok, has been given the nod for the Story of the Year.

Published shortly before the success of the Singapore Cup final, the article chronicled Bok's transition from a player whose career was tragically cut short, to the most successful coach in Singapore.

There was also a second consecutive nomination for Zeng Liwei, who is once again in the running for the Picture of the Year award.

Zeng's striking photo of Delwinder Singh tussling with national team-mate Aleksandar Duric (seen above), juxtaposed the young Tanjong Pagar captain with the soon to be retiring Stags captain.

Last year, Zeng was nominated for his shot of Sukhbir Singh stepping in to stop a confrontation.

This year's awards will be held on November 11, at ITE College East, Auditorium and Function Hall, Simei.

Great Eastern Player of the Year
Nominees: Shahrazen Said (Brunei DPMM FC), Frederic Mendy (Home United FC), Aleksandar Duric
(Tampines Rovers FC), Jamil Ali (Tampines Rovers FC), Ahmad Latiff (Tampines Rovers FC)

YEO’S Young Player of the Year
Nominees: Sho Kamimura (Albirex Niigata (S) FC), Hafiz Sujad (Courts Young Lions), Gary Robbat (Harimau
Muda), Wan Zack Haikal (Harimau Muda), Stefan Milojevic (Geylang United FC)

Mikasa Coach of the Year
Nominees: Darren Stewart (Balestier Khalsa FC), Vjeran Simunic (Brunei DPMM FC), Kanan Vedhamuthu
(Geylang United FC)

EO’S People Choice Award
Winner: Wan Zack Haikal (Harimau Muda)

RHB Top Scorer
Winner: Frederic Mendy (Home United FC)

Singapore Pools Fair Play Award
Nominees: Albirex Niigata (S) FC, Gombak United FC, Harimau Muda, Home United FC, Woodlands
Wellington FC

Great Eastern Referee of the Year
Nominees: Abdul Malik Bashir, Muhd Taqi Jahari, Leow Thiam Hoe, Sukhbir Singh, W Ravisanthiran

Waga Assistant Referee of the Year
Nominees: Tang Yew Mun, Edwin Lee, Jeffrey Goh, Eugene Chan, Ronnie Koh

Polar Fan Club of the Year
Nominees: Courts Young Lions, Singapore Armed Forces FC, Hougang United FC

Tiger Beer Goal of the Year
Nominees: Shukor Zailan (Singapore Armed Forces FC), Ismadi Mukhtar (Tampines Rovers FC), Jamil Ali
(Tampines Rovers FC), Moon Soon Ho (Woodlands Wellington FC), Benoit Croissant (Tampines Rovers FC)

RHB Story of the Year
Sazali Abdul Aziz – From daily grind to top of the table (The New Paper)
Fabius Chen – Teen’s Breakthrough (Straits Times)
Nicholas Neo – A battle between boots and books (
Neo Chee Seong – My Football Journey - Ismail Yunos (
Muhd Khalis Rifhan – One-on-One: Then Man who came in from the dark – Richard Bok’s transition from
player to Singapore’s most successful coach (

Singapore Pools Picture of the Year
Zeng Liwei – Two Captains – Present vs Future (
Gavin Foo – Red Mist (The New Paper)
BP Chua – Down but not out (
Cheng Jing Hean – Damn I love my job (