Tampines Rovers lead nominations for 2012 S.League Awards Night

The 2012 S.League champions have three players up for Player of the Year, while Harimau Muda have two players in the running for Young Player of the Year
     By Bhas Kunju

Two names that have been repeatedly touted for the national team but consistenly overlooked will be up against each other for the Player of the Year award at this year's 2012 S.League Awards Night.

Tampines Rovers duo, Jamil Ali and Ahmad Latiff, will be up against their captain Aleksandar Duric for the award. The other two nominees are Shahrazen Said of Brunei DPMM and Frederic Mendy of Home United.

Mendy already has one award under his belt this term for finishing as the league's top scorer.

Despite winning the title and finishing runners-up in the Singapore Cup, Tampines miss out on a Coach of the Year nod after their coaching musical chairs this season which saw Steven Tan dropped in favour of Tay Peng Kee in the closing stages of the season.

Darren Stewart, who is in his first year at Balestier Khalsa will be competing with S.League runner-up Vjeran Simunic and S.League freshman coach Kanan Vedhamuthu for the Coach of the Year award.

Tampines, however, do have three further nominations in the Goal of the Year category. Ismadi Mukhtar, Jamil Ali and Benoit Croissant have all been nominated alongside Moon Soon Ho of Woodlands Wellington and Shukor Zailan of Singapore Armed Forces FC (SAFFC).

Shukor's nomination is also one of only two received by the Warriors despite their Singapore Cup success this season with the other being in the Fan Club of Year category.

League newcomers, Harimau Muda, meanwhile have a double nomination to boast of in the Young Player of the Year category. Wan Zack Haikal, who has already won the People Choice Award, is nominated alongside team-mate Gary Robbat. Young Lions' Hafiz Sujad is the only local nominee in this category, with Albirex Niigata's Sho Kamimura and Stefan Milojevic of Geylang rounding off the nominations.

This year's awards will be held on November 11, at ITE College East, Auditorium and Function Hall, Simei.

Great Eastern Player of the Year
Nominees: Shahrazen Said (Brunei DPMM FC), Frederic Mendy (Home United FC), Aleksandar Duric
(Tampines Rovers FC), Jamil Ali (Tampines Rovers FC), Ahmad Latiff (Tampines Rovers FC)

YEO’S Young Player of the Year
Nominees: Sho Kamimura (Albirex Niigata (S) FC), Hafiz Sujad (Courts Young Lions), Gary Robbat (Harimau
Muda), Wan Zack Haikal (Harimau Muda), Stefan Milojevic (Geylang United FC)

Mikasa Coach of the Year
Nominees: Darren Stewart (Balestier Khalsa FC), Vjeran Simunic (Brunei DPMM FC), Kanan Vedhamuthu
(Geylang United FC)

EO’S People Choice Award
Winner: Wan Zack Haikal (Harimau Muda)

RHB Top Scorer
Winner: Frederic Mendy (Home United FC)

Singapore Pools Fair Play Award
Nominees: Albirex Niigata (S) FC, Gombak United FC, Harimau Muda, Home United FC, Woodlands
Wellington FC

Great Eastern Referee of the Year
Nominees: Abdul Malik Bashir, Muhd Taqi Jahari, Leow Thiam Hoe, Sukhbir Singh, W Ravisanthiran

Waga Assistant Referee of the Year
Nominees: Tang Yew Mun, Edwin Lee, Jeffrey Goh, Eugene Chan, Ronnie Koh

Polar Fan Club of the Year
Nominees: Courts Young Lions, Singapore Armed Forces FC, Hougang United FC

Tiger Beer Goal of the Year
Nominees: Shukor Zailan (Singapore Armed Forces FC), Ismadi Mukhtar (Tampines Rovers FC), Jamil Ali
(Tampines Rovers FC), Moon Soon Ho (Woodlands Wellington FC), Benoit Croissant (Tampines Rovers FC)

RHB Story of the Year
Sazali Abdul Aziz – From daily grind to top of the table (The New Paper)
Fabius Chen – Teen’s Breakthrough (Straits Times)
Nicholas Neo – A battle between boots and books (FootballOPOD.com)
Neo Chee Seong – My Football Journey - Ismail Yunos (Axrosstheline.com)
Muhd Khalis Rifhan – One-on-One: Then Man who came in from the dark – Richard Bok’s transition from
player to Singapore’s most successful coach (Goal.com)

Singapore Pools Picture of the Year
Zeng Liwei – Two Captains – Present vs Future (Goal.com)
Gavin Foo – Red Mist (The New Paper)
BP Chua – Down but not out (Axrosstheline.com)
Cheng Jing Hean – Damn I love my job (FootballOPOD.com)