Sultan of Selangor Cup 2012: V. Kanan takes charge, Duric in squad

The Singapore striker has been called up to this year's SOS squad, which will be led by Geylang United coach Vedhamuthu Kanan, with the match to take place on 29th September.

This year’s Sultan of Selangor Cup  will be held on 29th September 2012 at the Shah Alam stadium, with the Veterans match kicking off at 8pm and the main event soon after.

The 2012 Sultan of Selangor Cup is in its 11th year of existence and symbolizes the decades of friendly rivalry and renewed friendship between Singapore and Selangor, both on and off the pitch.

This friendship was further strengthened at the Jalan Besar Stadium on Friday evening as Dato’ Abdul Karim Munisar, chairman of the the Sultan of Selangor Cup local organizing committee, presented tickets to representatives from the various S.League fan groups.

Thanks to this generous gesture from the Sultan, a total of 200 lucky fans will be travelling up north to witness the annual footballing extravaganza.

Following the presentation, Dato’ Karim proclaimed that he was looking forward to welcoming the Singapore supporters.

“It is with great pleasure that we are able to present tickets to the Singapore fans today, and we look forward to hosting our friends from Singapore next Saturday.”

A S.League selection squad has been put together by Geylang United head coach Vedhamuthu Kanan, who is one of the most promising young coaches in the Great Eastern YEO’s S.League.

The team will comprise exciting young players such as Hafiz Sujad and Fazli Ayob from the Courts Young Lions. Adding a touch of experience will be well-known stars like Tampines midfielder Ahmad Latiff and his team-mate, Singapore striker Aleksandar Duric.

The squad will be boosted by foreign players like  Takuma Ito and Norihiro Kawakami, both from Albirex Niigata (S), while Geylang’s Stefan Milojevic  and Carlos Delgado of Tanjong Pagar United are included as well.

As for Selangor, coach Irfan Bakti called up the club’s former star player Safee Sali, who will be joined by 19-year-old midfielder Rozaimi Rahman of Sabah FA. Michael Nicoise and Helmi Loussaief, both of Selangor PKNS FC, also make the squad.

Selangor’s foreign imports Ramez Dayoub and Bosko Balaban (of ex-Aston Villa fame) will take part in their first ever Sultan of Selangor Cup,  alongside teammate Amri Yahya, who has hit four goals in his last three Malaysia Cup games.

S.League Selection (Provisional Squad)

Takuma Ito, (Albirex Niigata), Joey Sim (Balestier Khalsa)
Norihiro Kawakami (Albirex), Shah Hirul (Geylang United), Jufri Taha (Tampines Rovers), Delwinder Singh (Tanjong Pagar United), Faritz Abdul Hamid (Courts Young Lions)
Hamqamaal Shah, Ruhaizad Ismail (both Balestier), Fabian Kwok (Geylang), Ahmad Latiff, Fahrudin Mustafic (both Tampines), Carlos Delgado (Tanjong Pagar), Hafiz Abu Sujad, Fazli Ayob (both Young Lions)
Stefan Milojevic (Geylang), Aleksandar Duric, Jamil Ali (both Tampines)