thumbnail Hello,

The highly anticipated Malaysia Cup will commence on the 17th of August for its first round of group fixtures, and the voting ceremony will take place on the 27th of July

The Secretary-General of the Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) as confirmed that there will be no changes on the voting date despite a few suggestion from team managers to do it earlier than the 27th of July.

According to Utusan Malaysia, teams such as Perak and ATM wanted the voting ceremony to be held earlier so that they can have time to prepare for friendly matches once they know who they will face in the group stage.

Hamidin also has confirmed that the date for the final of Malaysia Cup would be on the 26th of October, and he has guaranteed that it would not be a problem for the national team’s preparation for their Asia Cup qualification against Bahrain on the 15th of October 2013.

National team coach, Datuk K. Rajagopal will have 11 days for him to prepare for the match once the semi-finals are over. “From 5 October, which is right after the first semi-final of the Malaysia Cup, until the game against Bahrain on the 15th October, Rajagopal can prepare his players, so I do not think it would be a problem.”

There will be 16 teams competing for the trophy, and they will be segregated into four bowls before being voted into their own respective groups.  Super League champions Lions XII will be in the first bowl alongside Selangor, Johor Darul Takzim and Kelantan. The second bowl will have Pahang, ATM, Perak and PKNS FC in it. Two teams from the east, Terengganu and T-Team will be in the third bowl alongside Premier League Champion Sarawak and Sime Darby.  While the 4th bowl will have Johor and Kedah and the two winners from the play-offs, Felda United and Negeri Sembilan.