Spain dominate Euro Under-21 Championship all-star squad

The eventual winners provided the highest number of players to the 23-man group, which also included a helping from each semi-final participant
Spain have contributed 11 players to the Euro Under-21 Championship all-star squad after they emerged victorious in the final against Italy.

Chief among those representing la Rojita is captain and Player of the Tournament Thiago, whose hat-trick against Devis Mangia's men inspired his team-mates to defend their crown.

Another prominent fixture is Real Madrid starlet Alvaro Morata, who had been named tournament Golden Boot winner following his four-goal haul in five appearances.

The likes of Barcelona duo Marc Bartra and Martin Montoya, Malaga's Isco and Benfica's Rodrigo also found their way into the selection.

Italy's representatives were Paris Saint-Germain midfielder Marco Verratti and Liverpool striker Fabio Borini, who overcame a shoulder injury to notch twice, including the winner against Netherlands in the semi-finals.

Norway's Orjan Nyland and Stefan Strandberg featured after helping the Scandinavians progress to the last four before bowing out to Spain.

Russia playmaker Alan Dzagoev and Tottenham midfielder Lewis Holtby received honourable mentions, despite not being able to help their teams progress beyond the group stages.