Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
2 vs 0
September 14, 2012 8:45 PM SGT
Tan Sri Dato' Hj Hassan Yunos Stadium — Johor Bahru
Top of the Match
To Be Announced Shortly
Flop of the Match
To Be Announced Shortly

Johor 2-0 PKNS FC: Impressive win not enough for Johor to qualify to quarter final

Southerns Tigers failed to advance to the quarter finals despite recording a solid win over PKNS FC

By Falah Abdullah

Johor FA line-up, Malaysia

Buoyed by the presence of their President, Tunku Mahkota Johor Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim, and their immense home support, Johor recorded an impressive attacking display with their Argentine hitman Muriel Orlando scoring two goals.

However, the win was not enough for the Southern Tigers to qualify from Group A as 1st placed LionsXII and 2nd placed Johor FC played out a 0-0 draw.

It did not take long for the home side to register the first goal. As a matter of fact, it took them a total of 19 seconds to score Malaysia Cup’s fastest goal.

Pacey winger, Khairul Ezaidi crossed for Orlando who expertly controlled the ball before unleashing a venomous shot past Hafidz Romly. It was a delightful goal fit for the highlight reel.

Shell-shocked, PKNS FC tried to respond with attacks of their own but were forced to sit back in their own half with Johor piling on the pressure.

Muriel Orlando created a chance for himself from a harmless throw in as he turned his marker, Zulharis Mohd Nor inside out, before calmly shooting past the hapless Hafidz Romly to the jubilation of the home crowd.  

The first half ended with PKNS FC chasing their own shadows as Johor controlled play and passed the ball around with ease.

PKNS FC coach, Haji Abdul Rahman must have said some harsh words during the break as his charges started the second half with more purpose to their play.

However, the second half wasn't much better for his team and it was marred by several needless fouls with several players from both teams struggling with fatigue.

It was an imposing performance by K. Sukumaran’s boys and they have every right to feel hard done by having failed to qualify for the last eight of the competition.  

Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Matías Conti Matías Conti
7 1
Marlon Alex James Marlon Alex James
5 0
Badhri Radzi Badhri Radzi
4 0
Alen Guć Alen Guć
3 1
Nor Farhan Muhammad Nor Farhan Muhammad
3 0