Goal.com - Home

thumbnail Hello,
4 vs 0
November 15, 2013 6:30 PM SGT
Shahid Dastgerdi Stadium — Tehrān (Teheran)
Referee:‬ M. Tojo‎
Attendance:‬ 50‎
86′ Oday Jaffal
Top of the Match
To Be Announced Shortly
Flop of the Match
To Be Announced Shortly

Late Syrian goals compound misery on understrength Singapore

Syria claimed a flattering 4-0 win over the Lions who were missing several key players in Tehran

By Bhas Kunju

Hariss Harun Hamdi Al Masri Singapore Syria 10152013
Singapore's hopes of another upset at the AFC Asian Cup qualifiers were dashed, as Syria made up for their loss to the Lions a month ago, with an emphatic 4-0 victory.

Played in Tehran, Iran, the match got off to a quick start with the designated home side taking an early lead.

Sanharib Malki beat a slow-to-react Singapore defence to a cross from the byline, to hit a low shot into the far corner of Hassan Sunny's goal.

The goal looked to open the floodgates for Syria, with Singapore pressed into defending inside their own half for most of the match. But the scoreline remained at 1-0 going into the break with some stubborn defending and an in-form Hassan Sunny denying the rampant Syrians.

But the cracks eventually appeared in the Singapore defence. Late into the game, when the Lions looked to have salvaged a decent result with an understrength side, Ahmad Al Doni pounced on a poor clearance to beat Hassan from close range and double the lead at the 83rd minute.

Just three minutes later another defensive lapse let in Oday Jaffal who made it a comfortable 3-0.

With the game entering added time, an unmarked Abdul Fattah Al Agha rose the highest to head home from a corner kick to seal an emphatic 4-0 win.

The defeat leaves Singapore at the foot of Group B while Syria take up third place. Both teams have two more games to go with the Lions next taking on Jordan at home in February.

Group A Matchday 4
Times In SGT
Top Scorers
Player   Goals Penalties
Ali Mabkhout Ali Mabkhout
Al Jazira
6 0
R. Ghoochannejhad R. Ghoochannejhad
Standard Liege
5 0
Javad Nekounam Javad Nekounam
AlKuwait SC
4 3
Khalfan Ibrahim Khalfan Ibrahim
Al Sadd
4 1
Younis Mahmoud Younis Mahmoud
Al Ahli (Jeddah)
4 0