Kano Pillars dominate League Bloggers Awards

The reigning champions of the Nigeria Professional Football League on Wednesday carted home most of the available prizes at the 2013 LBA gala night

Kano Pillars head coach Baba Ganaru and his player Rabiu Ali have been named the Manager and Player of the year at the 2013 League Bloggers Awards (LBA).

The event staged at the Sheraton Lagos Hotel, Ikeja also saw the Pyramid Boys complete a treble by winning the Club of the Year award.

Nembe City’s Japhet Opubo won the Best New Goalkeeper award while the main Goalkeeper award went to Femi Thomas of Enyimba. Oghenekaro Etebo was announced as Rookie of the Year.

The highest goal scorer award went to Victor Namo of Nasarawa United with Brown Braye’s strike for Nembe City against Heartland was named Goal of the Season. 

In other categories, Sunday Mba was named Best Glo Premier League player in the National Team. Also, El-Kanemi Warriors of Maiduguri won the Fair Play award.

Victor Ezeji’s contribution to the Nigerian league was rewarded as he was named the Player of the Decade.