Nigeria name 30-man provisional World Cup squad

The African champions have announced a team of 30 players for next month's tournament in Brazil with the exclusion of Villareal’s Ikechukwu Uche
Nigeria coach Stephen Keshihas invited 30 players in his provisional squad for the 2014 World Cup that starts on June 12.

The reigning African champions will be making their fifth appearance at football's showpiece and have been drawn in the same group with Argentina, Iran and Bosnia.

Usual suspects Vincent Enyeama, Mikel Obi, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Ahmed Musa and Victor Moses are called, as well as dark horses Ramon Azeez, Michael Babatunde and Azubuike Egwuekwe while midfield ace Joel Obi and Peter Odemwingie return after several months in the international wilderness.

Top scorer of the 29th Africa Cup of Nations, Emmanuel Emenike, back from injury, returns to the fold.

However, injured Nosa Igiebor and Reuben Gabriel are the surprise inclusion in the squad while the Big Boss snubbed Ikechukwu Uche, Dynamo Kiev's Brown Ideye, Hull City’s Sone Aluko and Fegor Ogude who have had a great season.

There are four goalkeepers, eight defenders, eight midfielders and ten strikers.


Full Squad

Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Chigozie Agbim, Daniel Akpeyi. 

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Efe Ambrose, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo, Joseph Yobo, Kunle Odunlami. 

Midfielders: Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Ejike Uzoenyi, Sunday Mba, Reuben Gabriel, Nosa Igiebor, Joel Obi. 

Strikers: Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses, Emmanuel Emenike, Obinna Nsofor, Osaze Odemwingie, Babatunde Michael, Michael Uchebo, Nnamdi Oduamadi, Nwofor Uche