Yaya, Mikel, Enyeama & Emenike in final shortlist for Caf player of the year award

Four Nigerian players have been included in the 10-man list for the 2013 African footballer of the year by the continent's premier football body
The Confederation of African Football has released the shortlists for the 2013 African Player of the Year with Mikel Obi, Emmanuel Emenike, Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa making the cut in the ten-man list that has reigning Africa’s best player Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire.

Twenty-five players were initially shortlisted some weeks ago before it was trimmed down to 10 through voting from members of the Technical & Development and the Media Committees.

The Head Coaches of the National Associations affiliated to Caf will vote in their order of preference to decide on the eventual winners of the two categories.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.


1 Ahmed Musa CSKA Moscow, Nigeria

2 Yaya Toure Manchester City, Cote d’Ivoire

3 John Obi Mikel Chelsea, Nigeria

4 Jonathan Pitroipa Stade Rennes, Burkina Faso

5 Emmanuel Emenike Fernabahce, Nigeria

6 Didier Drogba Galatasaray, Wigan Cote d’Ivoire

7 Asamoah Gyan, Al Ain, Ghana

8 Mohamed Aboutreika Al Ahly, Egypt

9 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Borussia Dortmund, Gabon

10 Vincent Enyeama Lille, Nigeria