Kenneth Omeruo makes Tuttosport's Golden Boy shortlist

The Nigeria defense stalwart is among the 40 nominees for the annual award given to Europe’s most exciting young player

Kenneth Omeruo has been shortlisted for the 2013 Golden Boy award. The 20-year old Chelsea defender made the cut following his superb performance with the Super Eagles at the Africa Cup of Nations and the Fifa Confederations Cup staged in Brazil.

The award organised by Italian outfit, Tuttosport will see the former ADO Den Haag player battle with the likes of Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Lucas Digne, Raphael Varane and Romelu Lukaku for the prestigious honour.

Rafael van der Vaart was the first recipient of the Golden Boy award after impressing in his early days at Ajax, while Manchester United forward Wayne Rooney became the first Premier League player to scoop the prestigious prize in 2004.

Isco of Real Madrid won the award last year following an impressive season with Malaga in the 2012/13 season.

The winner will be announced later in the year after voting by journalists from across the world. 


Raphael Varane (Real Madrid)

Jesé (Real Madrid)

Richmond Boakye (Elche)

Bruma (Galtasaray)

Emre Can (Bayer Leverkusen)

Sebastian Cristóforo (Sevilla)

Lucas Digne (PSG)

Julian Draxler (Schalke 04)

Yannick Ferreira Carrasco (Monaco)

Viktor Fischer (Ajax)

Fred (Shakhtar Donetsk)

Serge Gnabry (Arsenal)

Mauro Icardi (Inter)

Juan Iturbe (Verona)

Adnan Januzaj (Manchester United)

Geoffrey Kondogbia (Monaco)

Mateo Kovacic (Inter)

Diego Laxalt (Bologna)

Nicolas López (Udinese)

Romelu Lukaku (Everton)

Adam Maher (PSV Eindhoven)

Lazar Markovic (Benfica)

Marquinhos (PSG)

Aleksandar Mitrovic (Anderlecht)

Matija Nastasic (Manchester City)

M’Baye Niang (Milán)

Kenneth Omeruo (Chelsea)

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal)

Brayan Perea (Lazio)

Paul Pogba (Juventus)

Juan Quintero (Porto)

Josip Radosevic (Nápoli)

Rafinha (Celta)

Ante Rebic (Fiorentina)

Yaya Sanogo (Arsenal)

Florian Thauvin (Olympique de Marsella)

Tiago Ilori (Liverpool)

Óliver Torres (Atlético)

Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord)

Vitinho (CSKA)