Nigeria Premier League clubs to share 50m Naira

The League Management Company has announced that the sum of fifty million naira will be shared by NPFL clubs at the end of the season

Nigeria Premier League clubsides will share the sum of 50 million naira when the Glo League season comes to an end on Sunday, the LMC has announced.

Chairman of the LMC, Hon. Nduka Irabor announced the innovative Merit Award has been introduced to sustain the competitive spirit that has seen the league in a photo finish such that the winner will be determined on the final day.

“It is an innovation we are bringing about to sustain if not raise the level of competitiveness witnessed in the out-going season and as we stabilize the League, the Merit Award will be reviewed upwards.” Irabor told journalists.

He also clarified that the Merit Award is different from the appearance fee which is distributed evenly amongst the twenty participating clubs and explained that the money will hopefully assist the clubs start preparations for next season’s activities and also help those being relegated settle for competition in the lower division.

The top prize of N10m will go to the champions while the runners-up will earn N7.5m with the 2nd and 3rd runners-up going home with the sum of N5m and N2.5m respectively. 

In the same vein, the 5th, 6th and 7th placed teams will receive N2.1m, N1.95m and N1.9m just as the 8th, 9th and 10th placed teams that will be paid N1.85m, N1.8m and N1.75m respectively.

For the 11th, 12th and 13th positions, the reward has been pegged at N1.7m, N1.65m and N1.6m. Others cash rewards are 14th (N1.5m), 15th (N1.4m), 16th (N1.3m), 17th (N1.25m), 18th (N1.2m) and 19th (N1.05m) in descending order.