Enyeama returns and heads 23-man list of Eagles players called up for Malawi match

The Super Eagles coach has released the names of the 23 players that will prosecute the match against the Flames

Stephen Keshi has sent a revised list of 23 players for Nigeria as the Super Eagles prepare for next week’s 2014 FIFA World Cup qualifying match against Malawi in Calabar.

 The list was submitted and accepted by the Technical Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF).

“We have accepted the list of 23 players and they will resume camping for the match in Calabar as from Monday,” Chris Green, Chairman of the Technical Committee, said.

Making a return is Vincent Enyeama, who was omitted from the team that played South Africa in the Mandela Challenge and also included is new Caykur Rizespor defender, Godfrey Oboabona.

The Super Eagles need only a draw to progress to the 10-team final elimination round, where two-leg, knock out fixtures will determine Africa’s five flag-bearers to the 2014 World Cup.


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille FC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga, Portugal); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); James Okwuosa (Chippa United, South Africa); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); John Ogu (Academica de Coimbra, Portugal); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan, Italy); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Uche Nwofor (SC Heerenveen, Netherlands); Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)