thumbnail Hello,

The Seasiders ensured passage to the first cup final in their illustrious history with a 2-1 win over Akwa United in Bauchi on Thursday

Warri Wolves completed the list of the two finalists for the 2013 Federation Cup final after they defeated Akwa United 2-1 at the Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Stadium, Bauchi to set a date with Enyimba of Aba in the final billed for Lagos on Sunday, September 15.

The game was stopped on Wednesday after a heavy downpour rendered the pitch waterlogged with about 12 minutes to the end of the encounter.

The remaining 12 minutes was played on Thursday and the Seasiders were awarded a penalty in the 84th minute(sixth minute of the scheduled 12) after Oghenekaro Etebo was brought down in the vital area by an overzealous Akwa United defender.

Gift Atulewa did not waste the opportunity presented him to put his name in the club's folklore as he planted the ball beyond the reach of the Akwa United's goalkeeper and Warri Wolves held on till the final blast of the referee's whistle for the famous win.

An elated Wolves' media officer, Moses Etu said the club would be targeting the Federation Cup title in Lagos stating that Enyimba would have no hiding place at the Teslim Balogun Stadium on September 15.

He praised the unrelenting and never say die attitude of the players and technical crew which eventually fetched the latest win.

"Warri Wolves are through to the final of the Federation Cup. It was a difficult match but we thank God we were able to beat them. We only played the remaining 12 minutes and we got the goal from the penalty spot in the 6th minute of the 12 minutes played when Etebo was viciously brought down in the 18 yard box.

"Atulewa scored the resultant penalty kick. We are set for Enyimba and we shall show them the stuff we are made up in Lagos. We are going to Lagos with high expectations," Etu said.

This is Wolves maiden appearance in the Federation Cup final while Enyimba are through to their fourth final from the last five editions this term. Enyimba won the competition in 2005 and 2009 and lost twice in 2010, 2011 to Kaduna United and Heartland respectively.

Enyimba earlier got the other ticket after a 1-0 win over Lobi Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City through Ifeanyi Ede's goal in the 58th minute.