Federation Cup: Shooting Stars beat Gateway to win five-goal thriller in Akure

The Oluyole Warriors avoided early exit this term as they braved all odds to beat the Abeokuta based National League side
Eight time Federation Cup winners, Shooting Stars Sports Club have zoomed to the next round of the competition after overcoming a stubborn Gateway United 3-2 at the Akure Township Stadium Sunday evening.

The Oluyole Warriors gave a hint that they meant business with their curtain raiser inside the first minute through Osagona Ighadaro but the National League side didn't allow that to cage them as they got the leveller seven minutes later through Kingsley Ediwo.

The Ibadan side raced into the lead against through Gbolahan Salami in the 24th minute but same Ediwo ensured the first half ended 2-2 apiece with his second goal of the match in the 34th minute.
Impressive Tony Edjomariegwe however put the game beyond the reach of Gateway when notched home the third goal in the 67th minute to the delight of 3SC supporters who were happy to be saved the agony of another first round ouster just like it was last season.

The elite division side will entertain JUTH FC of Jos in the Round of 32 and they have sailed to the next round alongside Warri Wolves, Lobi Stars, Gombe United, ABS and other premier league clubs.

In some other thrilling Round of 32 matches released by the Nigeria Football Federation(NFF)'s competitions department, El Kanemi Warriors will have a tough job on their hands as they are billed to face Kano Pillars who were semi finalists last year.

Heartland the back to back champions have a tie against giant killers Ingas of Enugu while Lobi Stars who got the final before they were beaten by Heartland will trade tackles with National League side, MFM of Lagos. Nembe City and Sunshine Stars will slug it out in another tie involving two premier league clubs.

Here is the full fixtures of the Federation Cup Round of 32

•Warri Wolves vs Spotlight
•Abia Warriors vs Kaduna United
•Samba FC vs Enugu Rangers/Dan Lawan
•Makwada United vs Yarmalight/Akwa Utd
•Elkanemi Warriors vs Kano Pillars
•Taraba FC vs Gombe United
•Nasarawa United vs COD United
•Nembe City vs Sunshine Stars
•MFM FC vs Lobi Stars
•Remo Stars vs Enyimba
•Dolphins FC vs Akwa Starlets
•ABS FC vs Bayelsa United/Prime FC
•Heartland FC vs Ingas FC
•Julius Atete FC vs Sharks FC
•Plateau United vs Niger Tornadoes