thumbnail Hello,

The Chelsea duo will lead the Super Eagles to Houston for their international friendly against Tri Colore in the United States later this month

Nigeria coach Stephen Keshi has announced his 25-man team for the international match against the Mexican national team on Friday, May 31 (8:00 p.m. CT) at the Reliant Stadium in Houston, Texas.

Nigeria, the current African champions, are preparing for two 2014 Fifa World Cup Qualifying matches in June before travelling to Brazil to participate in the 2013 Fifa Confederations Cup. The Super Eagles will count on its English Premier League stars to lead the way, including Chelsea midfielders John Obi Mikel, and Victor Moses, one of the top wingers in European soccer.

The duo will lead a contingent of nine players from the Nigeria Professional Football League called up for the game. Three of the players are picked from Sunshine Stars.

In addition, Keshi called in two players based in the German Bundesliga, two from Serie A in Italy, two from the Scottish Premier League and two from the Portuguese Liga. Mexico is expected to release its roster in the coming days.

Mexico and Nigeria have met three times with a 1-0-2 record in favor of Mexico. The two teams last met in October of 2007 in an international friendly, with the match ending in a 2-2 tie at the Estadio Olimpico Benito Juarez in Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua.

Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves/NGA), Austin Ejide (Hapoel/ISR), Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv/ISR)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves/NGA), Efe Ambrose (Celtic/SCO), Elderson Echiéjilé (Sporting de Braga/POR), Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag/NED), Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars/NGA), Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars/NGA), Francis Benjamin (Heartland F.C./NGA), Odunlami Kunle (Sunshine Stars FC/NGA)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea/ENG), Victor Moses (Chelsea/ENG), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio/ITA), John Ogu (Academia de Coimbra/POR), Obinna Nwachukwu (Heartland/NGA), Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers/NGA), Michael Babatunde (Kryvbas Kryvyi/UKR), Reuben Gabriel (Kilmarnock/SCO)

Forwards: Joseph Akpala (SV Werder Bremen/GER), Brown Ideye (FC Dynamo Kyiv/UKR), Anthony Ujah (FC Koln/GER), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese/ITA), Kalu Uche (Kasımpaşa Spor Kulübü /TUR), Gambo Muhammad (Kano Pillars F.C./NGA)