John Obuh picks Ajagun, 20 others to defend Caf U-20 title

The national youth coach has submitted his list of players for the African Youth Championship which starts in Algeria on March 16

Nigeria Under-20 coach John Obuh has picked a final list of 21 players to fly the country’s flag at the 2013 African Youth Championship holding in Algeria between 16th and 30th March. The Flying Eagles are the defending champions.

On Wednesday, Obuh, who also led the team to triumph in South Africa two years ago, picked three goalkeepers, seven defenders, six midfielders and five strikers as the team intensified its final preparations in Tunis.

At the top of the list is skipper Abduljeleel Ajagun, who was part of the squad that lifted the trophy in South Africa on May 1, 2011. There are also Fifa U-17 World Cup silver medallists Mohammed Goyi Aliyu, Aigbe Oliha, Edafe Egbedi and Olanrewaju Kayode.

Nigeria play Mali, Gabon and Democratic Republic of Congo, in that order, in Group B of the 12th African Youth Championship. Host Algeria, Benin Republic, Ghana and Egypt clash in Group A.

The Flying Eagles will play all their group phase games in Oran, with their first match against Mali’s Junior Eagles coming up on March 17 and the clash with Gabon on March 20. Three days later, they trade tackles with the Democratic Republic of Congo, who eliminated Cameroon’s Lionceux to reach their first African Youth Championship finals.

Samuel Okani Enyimba
Jonah Usman ABS FC

Emmanuel Daniel

Aigbe Oliha Esperance Sportive de Zarzis

Goyi Aliyu

Abdullahi Shehu Kano Pillars
Chizoba Amaefule Dolphins
Ikechukwu Okorie Enyimba

Kingsley Madu

Abubakar Hassan Wikki Tourists


Aminu Umar Wikki Tourists
Abduljeleel Ajagun  Dolphins

Ovbokha Agboyi

Bayelsa United

Chidi Osuchukwu

Uche Agbo Enyimba

Moses Orkuma

Lobi Stars



Bright Ejike


Olanrewaju Kayode

Ansfed Utd,Turkey
Abdullahi Gero Rangers
Christian Pyagbara Sharks

Edafe Egbedi

AGF-Aarhus, Denmark