John Obuh invites 30 players to prepare for African Youth Championship

The national U20 coach has named his provisional squad for the AYC while omitting Eagles duo of Kenneth Omeruo and Ogenyi Onazi ahead of their trip to Tunisia for three weeks camp

Flying Eagles' coach John Obuh has released a provisional 30 man squad for his final preparation for the African Youth Championship (AYC) title defence slated for Algeria next month.

Obuh expectedly left out Kenneth Omeruo and Ogenyi Onazi who emerged as African champions with the Super Eagles' team at the just concluded Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa.

The trainer stuck with most of the players that he made use of during the qualifiers and those that are still within the age bracket but featured at the last Fifa U20 World Cup in Colombia in 2011.

The coach named 26 players that are plying their trade in the domestic league with only four foreign based making the cut. The foreign based players are Mikel Agu (FC Porto), Saliu Sodiq (FC Metz, France), Bright Osagie (Red Bull Salzburg, Austria) and Edafe Egbedi (AGF Aarhus, Denmark).

The 30 players will eventually be pruned down to 21 before the start of the AYC on March 16 where Nigeria will do battle with DR Congo, Gabon and Mali in a tough group B.

The Nigeria U20 national team will camp for three weeks in Tunisia, before heading to Algeria, where they will defend the African title they won two years ago in South Africa.

The Eagles will depart Abuja, where they have been camping, on Monday afternoon.

They will play two warm up matches in Cairo against the Egyptian U20 team, before jetting out to Tunisia.

The Flying Eagles lost the last three friendly matches they played against Rangers International of Enugu, one of Nigeria's representatives in the 2013 Caf Champions League and Warri Wolves.

They also played out a goalless draw against Benin Republic in their last friendly.

The full list:

Goalkeepers: Emmanuel Daniel, Jonah Usman, Samuel Okani

Defenders: Chizoba Amaefule, Shehu Abdullahi, Ikechukwu Okorie, Kingsley Madu, Hassan Abubakar, Ekoh Favour Oke, Aliyu Mohammed Goyi, Aigbe Oliha

Midfielders: Chidi Osuchukwu, Abduljeleel Ajagun,Uche Agbo, Ibrahim Abubakar Aliyu, Nzube Anaezemba, Moses Orkuma, Ovbokha Agboyi, Oluwaseun Taro, Okechukwu Azubuike, Saliu Sodiq, Mikel Agu

Strikers: Alhaji Gero, Umar Aminu, Christian Pyagbara, Harrison Egbune, Bright Ejike, Edafe Egbedi, Yahaya Adamu, Bright Osagie