EXCLUSIVE: Odemwingie, Martins and Taiwo not listed for Super Eagles as Stephen Keshi reveals preliminary 32-man list

Three players who have been consistent in the Super Eagles over the last four years have been dropped from Keshi’s Afcon list
Coach Stephen Keshi revealed his preliminary 32-man list of players that will go into closed camping for the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations Cup tournament that will kick-off in South Africa on January 19 and some stellar names did not make the list.

Peter Odemwingie, Obafemi Martins and Taye Taiwo have sensationally been dropped from the list of players that will be vying to be part of the 23-man team that will be going to South Africa in January.

The three players had over the last month shown enthusiasm to be part of the team and Odemwingie particularly intoned that the 2013 Afcon could be his last for the national team but national retirement seems to have come earlier than planned.

Martins has resurrected his career at Levante with six goals in 13 league games with Taiwo an ever present in Dynamo Kiev where he is on loan from AC Milan.

Odemingie started playing for the national team in 2002 and has won 55 caps with nine goals. Martins has won 37 caps with 18 goals while Taiwo has won 53 caps and contributed five goals from his defensive position.

The 32-man list


Vincent Enyeama (Maccabi Tel Aviv, Israel); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheba, Israel); Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC, Nigeria)


Elderson Echiejile (FC Braga, Portugal); Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC, Israel); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC, Nigeria); Joseph Yobo (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC, Scotland); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves, Nigeria); Danny Shittu (Millwall FC, England); Kenneth Omeruo (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars, Nigeria)


Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Raheem Lawal (Adana Demirspor, Turkey); Obiora Nwankwo (Calcio Padova, Italy); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars, Nigeria); Rabiu Ibrahim (Celtic FC, Scotland)


Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Emmanuel Emenike (Spartak Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Uche Kalu (Rizespor, Turkey); Bright Dike (Portland Timbers, USA); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle FC, England); Ikechukwu Uche (Villarreal FC, Spain); Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria); Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers, Nigeria)