Clubs dissolve Nigeria Premier League board

Sixteen clubs in the Nigeria Premier League have jointly signed a letter stating that they are not happy with the board over the past one year
Sixteen clubs in the Nigeria Premier League after a meeting on Tuesday night at Dennis Hotel in Abuja, passed a vote of no confidence on the board of the NPL.

The clubs subsequently dissolved the board of the Nigeria Premier League and have appointed an interim committee to steer the ship of the League for two months.

The clubs revealed that the board has not been able to lift the game to greater heights and want them to go for a more competent board to take over.

They noted that they have not benefited from the board as they lack ideas on how to transform the local league in Nigeria.

"We suffered untold hardship last season. And we don't want that again and that is why we have decided to dissolve the board and set up an interim committee to run the affairs of the League until a new election is conducted," read the statement.

The names of the new interim committee members are Mike Idoko from Sunshine Stars, Alloy Chukwuemeka from ABS and Chindo Abubakar from Wikki Tourists.

Others are Kaduna United's Sabo Babayaro, Promise Nwachukwu who represents Heartland and Ocean Boys' Anthony Ogola.

The Committee will start work immediately to revive the fortunes of the Nigeria Premier League.