Kaduna United defeat Wikki to win pre-season tournament trophy

The club's players were more precise during the shoot outs to beat stubborn Wikki Tourists while Pillars too defeated DSS in the playoff game

Kaduna United have emerged champions of the Pre-Season Tournament that was held in that state after a gruelling 7-6 penalty shootout victory over Wikki Tourists of Bauchi in the final played at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium on Wednesday.

The tie ended goalless at the end of the regulation period before Kaduna United proved to be more precise during the ensuing penalty kicks.

It was the second time both sides would be meeting in 48 hours after it ended 2-0 on Monday in favour of Kaduna United who won the tie then to avoid an early meeting with dreaded Kano Pillars

The club's media officer, Abdulrahman Tonga told Goal.com that Kaduna United carted away a giant trophy and that there were financial pledges made but yet to be redeemed.

He said that the victory in the eight team pre season tourney has shown that Kaduna United means business this coming season after escaping relegation on the last day of the season last term after a 3-0 home win over Lobi Stars. The club eventually finished 14th with 49 points from 36 fixtures.

"We are grateful to God for this important win. It goes to show the level of work we have put into the team after the disappointment of last season where we only escaped relegation on the last day of the season,” Tonga said.

"We are still building a team and when the squad is ready everyone will be there to see the turnaround of Kaduna United in the NPL next season.”

Earlier on, Kano Pillars saved some lost pride in the third place matcg after defeating Dynamic Sports Solution (DSS) 3-0 in a repeat of the Group A tie played on Monday. The game was also played at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium.

The National League side had beaten the NPL champions 2-1 that time but they were well trounced 3-0 in the losers final.

Goalkeeper Joel Theophilus Afelokhai opened Pillars’ scoring account from the penalty spot before Shehu Abdullahi and Kabiru Musa added two more to make it more emphatic.