Kano Pillars confirm Kaduna invitational tournament

The reigning champions are to lock horns with Enyimba, Lobi and others in Kaduna in another pre-season tournament few days after the one held in Niger Republic

Barely few days after their return from Niamey, Niger Republic where they participated in an invitational tournament, Kano Pillars are poised to take part in another tourney in Kaduna which will feature seven teams later this month.

Pillars defeated Olympic FC of Niger Republic (2-0), ASFAN of Niger (1-0) and that nation's U20 national team (1-0) to cart away a giant trophy and a sum of 300,000 naira equivalent recently.

Now the reigning Nigeria Premier League champions have almost concluded plans to take part in another one fixed for later in the month with six NPL clubs and a National League side in attendance.

Pillars' media officer, Idris Malikawa in a chat with Goal.com said that Enyimba, Kwara United, Kaduna United, Gombe United, Lobi Stars and Ranchers Bees are the teams expected to grace the 10 days tournament aimed at helping the clubs to further prepare adequately for the commencement of the 2012/2013 league season.

According to Malikawa: “We learnt a lot from the games we played in Niger and the level of opposition we faced on the pitch showed that the country too is coming of age. The competition was also meant to promote international integration between us and Niger Republic because we have the same culture, behaviour and also speak the same language with the Nigeriens.

"We will be willing to go for another of such competitions in the near future. For now, we are awaiting further briefs from the organisers of the Kaduna tournament that is meant for seven clubs in the country.

"A date has not been concluded but it is taking place this month and definitely we are going to attend it to help us with our preparation for the league season and the Caf Champions League. It is a seven team tourney which will comprise Pillars, Ranchers Bees, Kaduna United, Enyimba, Lobi, Kwara United and Gombe United," Malikawa said to Goal.com.

Pillars are the reigning champions of the NPL having won the title at the expense of Enugu Rangers, Lobi Stars and others last season.