Mikel, Utaka, Moses make Caf African player of the year list

Three Nigerian players have been included in the long list of 34 nominated for the 2012 African footballer of the year by the continent's premier football body
Nigerian players John Obi Mikel, John Utaka and Victor Moses have been announced in the long list of 34 players that will compete for the African footballer of the year title of the Confederation of African Football on Thursday evening.

Mikel has been nominated based on the strength of his winning the FA Cup and Champions League with Chelsea. Utaka won the French Ligue 1 with Montpellier while Moses was nominated based on his performance at Wigan where he helped the club to escape relegation.

The Nigerians will be contesting against the usual suspects - Cote d'Ivoire's Didier Drogba, reigning African king Yaya Toure, Gervinho, Arouna Kone, Cheick Tiote and Seydou Doumbia.

Reigning African champions Zambia have four players on the list: Christopher Katongo, Stopilla Sunzu, Emmanuel Mayuka and Rainford Kalaba.

Three Ghanaians Andre Ayew, Kwadwo Asamoah and Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu make the list while there are two Cameroonian representatives in Alexander Song and Nicolas Nkoulou.

Morocco is represented by Abdelaziz Barrada, Adel Taarabt and Younes Belhanda while Senegal have Demba Ba, Papiss Cisse, Moussa Konate and Moussa Sow on the long list.

Tunisians Aymen Abdennour and Youssef Msakni as well as Malians Bakaye Traore and Seydou Keita join the list. 

Perhaps interesting to note on the list are the Central African Republic duo of Foxi Kethevoama and Hilaire Roméo who saw to the elimination of Egypt from the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign.

The awards will hold at the Banquet Hall of the State House in Accra, Ghana on December 20.


1 Abdelaziz Barrada Getafe Morocco

2 Adel Taarabt Queens Park Rangers Morocco

3 Alain Sibiri Traore FC Lorient Burkina Faso

4 Alexander Song Barcelona Cameroon

5 Andre Ayew Marseille Ghana

6 Arouna Kone Wigan Cote d’Ivoire

7 Aymen Abdennour Toulouse Tunisia

8 Bakaye Traoré A.C Milan Mali

9 Cheick Ismael Tioté Newcastle United Cote d’Ivoire

10 Christopher Katongo Henan Construction Zambia

11 Demba Ba Newcastle United Senegal

12 Didier Drogba Shanghai Shenhua Cote d’Ivoire

13 Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu Udinese Ghana

14 Emmanuel Mayuka Southampton Zambia

15 Foxi Kethevoama FC Astana Central Africa

16 Gervais Lombe Yao Kouassi Arsenal Cote d’Ivoire

17 Hilaire Roméo Verdi Momi Le Mans Central Africa

18 John Obi Mikel Chelsea Nigeria

19 John Utaka Montpellier Nigeria

20 Kwadwo Asamoah Juventus Ghana

21 Moussa Sow Fenerbahçe Senegal

22 Nicolas N’koulou Marseille Cameroon

23 Papiss Demba Cissé Newcastle United Senegal

24 Pape Moussa Konaté FC Krasnodar Senegal

25 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Laval Gabon

26 Rainford Kalaba TP Mazembe Zambia

27 Seydou Doumbia CSKA Moscow Cote d’Ivoire

28 Seydou Keita Dalian Aerbin Mali

29 Sofiane Feghouli Almeria Algeria

30 Stoppila Sunzu TP Mazembe Zambia

31 Victor Moses Chelsea Nigeria

32 Yaya Toure Manchester City Cote d’Ivoire

33 Younes Belhanda Avignon Morocco

34 Youssef Msakni Esperance Tunisia