Edwin Okon releases Falconets’ list for Japan U-20 women’s World Cup

The squad list of the national U-20 team has been forwarded to Fifa as the team remains in camp in South Korea

The final 21-player list that will represent Nigeria at the Fifa U-20 Women’s World Cup that starts on August 19 in Japan has been revealed. And the bulk of the team – eight players; including captain Gloria Ofoegbu are from the camp of Rivers Angels.

The Falconets are in Group B and are paired against South American giants, Brazil, South Korea and Italy.

The Falconets were second in the last edition in Germany, losing to the hosts 2-0 in the final. The team is currently in South Korea where they have played some friendly matches in preparation for their opening match against South Korea.

Japan will play the opening match on the opening day, 19 August, against Mexico. The other teams in Group A are Switzerland and New Zealand.

 Runners-up in 2008, North Korea are grouped with Canada, Norway and Argentina in Group C. Group D comprises of USA, defending champions, Germany, Ghana and China.

The Falconets have seasoned campaigners like Desire Oparanozie, Ebere Orji and Francisca Ordega to count on for experience.

The tournament will be held around Japan in the five cities of Hiroshima, Kobe, Miyagi, Saitama and Tokyo, with the final to be held in the capital on September 8, 2012.


Squad list


Ibubeleye Whyte, Chioma Nwankwo, Damilola Akano           


Blessing Edoho, Gloria Ofoegbu, Ugo Njoku, Jennifer Osawaru, Fasilat Adeyemo, Josephine Chukwunonye, Chidinma Okoro


Cecilia Nku, Ngozi Okobi, Asisat Oshoala, Osarenoma Igbinovia


Esther Sunday, Ebere Orji, Desire Oparanozie, Winifred Eyebhoria, Francisca Orgega, Charity Adule, Abosede Olukayode