John Obuh names 25 players for Cape Town U-20 invitational tournament

The Flying Eagles will defend the trophy they won last year when the Cape Tournament competition begins

Nigeria Under-20 coach John Obuh has named a 25-man squad for an invitational tournament in Cape Town, South Africa.

The Flying Eagles will play in a group that has Argentina, Ghana and hosts South Africa.

The team will meet Ghana in their opening game of the competition on May 23 while the final of the tournament will be played on June 3.

The Flying Eagles are the defending champions of the tournament which they won last year. The competition is part of the preparation for Flying Eagles for the African Youth Championship qualifiers which starts later in the year.


Goalkeepers: Samuel Okani, Lekan Yusuf, Jacob Abobo

Defenders: Simon Innocent, Kingsley Patrick, Ikechukwu Okorie, Abonima Izuegbu, Chizoba Amaefule, Braye Brown, Tolulope Aluko, Lookman Binuyo

Midfielders: Taiye Ola, Nzube Anaezemba, Shehu Abdullahi, Obomate Frederick, Moses Orkuma, Uche Agbo, Abdullahi Saidu, Habu Idris, Ugonna Ezenwaka

Forwards: Alhaji Gero, Aminu Umar, Josiah Christian, Sikiru Alimi, Lucky Omeruo