thumbnail Hello,

Oleg Blokhin names 26-man panel that will be whittled down to 23 by the end of May ahead of matches with Sweden, England and France

Ukraine coach Oleg Blokhin announced on Tuesday the 26-strong list of players to provisionally make up his squad for this summer's European Championship, a competition they co-host alongside Poland.

The 1975 Ballon d'Or winner named two uncapped goalkeepers - Oleksandr Bandura and Maksym Koval - as makeshift replacements for first-choice shot-stopper Oleksandr Rybka (serving a two-year suspension for a doping offence) and his traditional substitutes Oleksandr Shovkovskiy and Andriy Dykan, ruled out with respectively a shoulder and a facial injury.

Top scorer Andriy Shevchenko made the list despite injury concerns in the past weeks. Former Barcelona defender Dmytro Chygrynskiy conversely missed out on the squad in which almost half the players hail from Ukraine giants Dynamo Kiev, while the only western Europe representative is tenacious midfielder Anatoliy Tymoshchuk from Bayern Munich.

Goalkeepers: Oleksandr Bandura (Metalurh Donetsk), Oleksandr Goryainov (Metalist Kharkiv), Maxym Koval (Dynamo Kiev), Andriy Pyatov (Shakhtar Donetsk).

Defenders: Bohdan Butko (Illychivets Mariupil), Olexandr Kucher (Shakhtar Donetsk), Vitaly Mandziuk (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Taras Mikhalik (Dynamo Kiev), Yaroslav Rakitskiy (Shakhtar Donetsk), Yevhen Selin (Vorskla Poltava), Yevhen Khacheridi (Dynamo Kiev), Vyacheslav Shevchuk (Shakhtar Donetsk).

Midfielders: Olexandr Aliyev (Dynamo Kiev), Denys Garmash (Dynamo Kiev), Oleh Gusev (Dynamo Kiev), Yevhen Konoplyanka (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Serhiy Nazarenko (Tavriya Simferopol), Ruslan Rotan (Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk), Taras Stepanenko (Dynamo Kiev), Anatoliy Tymoshchuk (Bayern Munich), Andriy Yarmolenko (Dynamo Kiev).

Forwards: Andriy Voronin (Dinamo Moscow), Marko Devic (Metalist Kharkiv), Artem Milevskiy (Dynamo Kiev), Yevhen Seleznyov (Shakhtar Donetsk), Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kiev).