Ghana FA launches maiden edition of the National Women’s League

The maiden women’s league will see 12 participating teams grouped into two sectors of six each
The Ghana Football Association has launched the maiden National Women’s League in Accra on Tuesday.

The maiden nationwide league will see the 12 participating teams grouped into two sectors of six each.

The Northern Sector comprises Lepo Ladies, Bolga Ghatel, Ampim Darkoah Ladies, Fabulous Ladies, Ashtown Ladies and Prisons Ladies.

Whiles Hasaacas Ladies, Ayoola Ladies, Immigration Ladies, Soccer Intellectuals, Cape Coast Ghatel and Volta Amalga Ladies make up the Southern division.

According to the Women’s League Board, winners from both zones will play a one-off match and the winner will be declared champion of the season.

The team that finishes bottom in either of the two sectors after the season will be automatically relegated while the second from bottom sides will compete in a one-off fixture to determine which side joins the two other relegated sides.

Three winners from the zonal championships will gain qualification to the 2013 National Women's League.

The League will kick-off on December 16 in both sectors.