Australia manager Holger Osieck hands call-up to Chris Herd for June matches, while Tim Cahill returns

The Aston Villa midfielder is on track for his Socceroos debut, while Everton attacker Tim Cahill is a chance to make his first international appearance since September 2011
Aston Villa midfielder Chris Herd could earn a first international cap for Australia, while Tim Cahill has returned to Holger Osieck's Socceroos squad for matches in June.

Australia take on Denmark in a friendly in Copenhagen on June 2, in preparation for their opening final round 2014 World Cup qualifying match against Oman in Muscat six days later before taking on Japan on June 13.

They will do so without experienced midfielder Brett Emerton due to an ankle injury, but there have been recalls for a host of players, including Everton attacker Cahill - absent for Australia since September 2011 - and pacy forward Nikita Rukavytsya.

Matt McKay, Brett Holman, Josh Kennedy, Nathan Coe, Adam Federici, Mile Jedinak, Neil Kilkenny, Robbie Kruse, Carl Valeri, Rhys Williams and Michael Zullo are also back in the squad after missing February's qualifier against Saudi Arabia.

Rukavytsya has won his first call-up since March 2011, having had a solid second half of the Bundesliga season despite the relegation battle of club side Hertha Berlin.

The 26-man squad - to be cut to 23 before the Oman match - has just one potential debutant in Herd, who made 19 starts for English Premier League club Villa in the 2011-12 campaign.

Melbourne Victory forwards Harry Kewell and Archie Thompson are the only two A-League representatives to receive call-ups, with five domestic-based players axed from the squad assembled for the Saudi Arabia clash.

Full squad as follows:
Mark Bresciano (Al Nasr), Alex Brosque (Shimizu S-Pulse), Tim Cahill (Everton), David Carney (Bunyodkor), Nathan Coe (SonderjyskE), Adam Federici (Reading), Chris Herd (Aston Villa), Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar), Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace), Joshua Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus), Harry Kewell (Melbourne Victory), Neil Kilkenny (Bristol City), Robbie Kruse (Fortuna Dusseldorf), Matt McKay (Busan I'Park), Mark Milligan (JEF United), Lucas Neill (Al Jazira), Jade North (Consadole Sapporo), Sasa Ognenovski (Seongnam Ilhwa), Nikita Rukavytsya (Hertha Berlin), Mark Schwarzer (Fulham), Matt Spiranovic (Urawa Reds), Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory), Carl Valeri (Sassuolo), Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow), Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough), Michael Zullo (FC Utrecht)

Follow Paddy Higgs on 

Follow Asia on and for the latest in Asian footballing news, features, and analysis