thumbnail Hello,

A new leadership has been installed for the country's women league with a veteran broadcast journalist to serve as head

Nigeria Football Federation has inaugurated the board of the Nigeria Women Football League headed by veteran broadcaster Aisha Falode. 

Following her board's inauguration, Falode automatically becomes a member of the executive board of the NFF replacing Dilichukwu Onyedinma till January 2019.

NFF President, Amaju Pinnick who inaugurated the new board at the NFF Secretariat, Abuja on Thursday, urged them to work with passion and commitment in lifting the country's women league to a new pedestal.

“I am aware of the prowess of Falode in marketing, and what she can bring to the league to develop it," Pinnick said.

"I also know that most of the members are well connected and could bring a new lease of life to the women’s League. They are all seasoned, passionate and capable.”

In her response, Falode, a member of the CAF Media Committee thanked the NFF for the privilege to serve and pledged her board determination to deliver huge success. 

She appealed to the NFF to ensure the successful completion of the inconclusive 2015/2016 season of the Nigeria Women Premier League to enable her board start on a clean slate.

“The reactions since we were appointed indicate that we are condemned to perform, to work hard and to achieve results. The past Boards of the women’s League did their best, but there is a lot of room for improvement. 

“We will look at the structure and the issue of players’ welfare and we are committed to running a women’s League that is functional, compact and competitive. 

"What we saw at the 10th Women Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon confirmed that the gap between the so –called big teams and the so–called small teams in African women football has narrowed significantly.

“It is our responsibility to run a women’s League that will turn things around and we will give it our best shot. In truth, times are hard, but tough times also have a way of bringing the best out of people, in terms of innovation.”

Aside Falode, the new board comprises of Margaret Icheen as Independent Vice Chairman; Joe Amene as Independent Director, while  Kemi Adesanya, Matilda Otuene, Henrietta Ukaigwe, Hussaina Suleiman, Mustapha Tahir, Usman Mustapha are directors and Nkechi Obi as the Chief Executive Officer.

Also present at the event were NFF General Secretary, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi, chairman of FA chairmen Alh. Ibrahim Musa Gusau, executive board member Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu , Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme Deputy General Secretary, Mr. Bitrus Bewarang NFF Technical Director and Mr. Bola Oyeyode, Director of Competitions.